- STAT-USA
STAT-USA is the first source for the daily releases by the Federal Reserve. Choose "State of the Nation". Covers only a select number of countries and is available in text and Excel formats. Countries covered:
Australia, Brazil, Canada, China (P.R.), Denmark, European Monetary Union, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, Venezuela.
- Federal Reserve
The Federal Reserve releases exchange rates daily as publication H.10. This is the same information as in STAT-USA but is available later in the day and is in text format only.
The Fed also releases data on money supply, interest rates, bank reserves and more.
Includes links to historical data.
- X-rates.com
Free site with daily and historical rates. Unclear on when rates are updated or where they get their data but covers more countries than the Fed. Also includes historical data. Pop-up blocking software strongly recommended when visiting this site.
- XE.com -- The Interactive Currency Table
Free site with current and historical rates. Lets you generate a table showing exchange rates with almost 70 countries with one query.
Unclear on when rates are updated or where they get their data.
|
- Banking and Monetary Statistics Regenstein Reading Room 1, call number HG2493.A5
Covers the U.S., 1914-1940. Monthly observations in most cases.
- Banking and Monetary Statistics : 1941-1970 Regenstein Reading Room 1, call number HG2493.A5 1976
Covers the U.S., 1941-1970. Monthly observations.
- Annual Statistical Digest Regenstein Stacks, call number HG2493.A2
Covers the U.S., 1970 to the present on a monthly basis. 1970-79 and 1980-1989 are collected in single volumes.
- Pick's Currency Yearbook later became World Currency Yearbook Regenstein Stacks, call number HG201.P6
Annual compendium on currencies worldwide. Includes information on the economic status of countries
and black market exchange rates. The title changed in 1980 but all volumes are located under the same call number.
The last edition was issued in 1996 and is located in the First Floor Reading Room.
- Whitaker's Almanac Regenstein Stacks, call number AY754.A4
Annual publication from Britain. It gives average rates against the pound for a period of one year,
although not necessarily a calendar year. Most useful for older periods as this publication began including exchange rates in 1874.
Look for "Money, foreign value of" in the index.
You can find information on other countries in books and articles.
Find books in the library catalog .
Use the subject browse to look for "Banks and banking your country name Statistics" or "Finance your country name Statistics".
This will find current as well as historical statistics
Find articles in EconLit,
ABI/Inform and
Business Source Complete.
EconLit is the best starting point as it includes
many empirical studies on currency and foreign exchange. Use the descriptors field in the advanced search to look for
foreign exchange or exchange rates. Narrow these results with keywords like statistics or country names. |