.
Business and Economics Subject Guides | Case Studies

Finding Case Studies



How do I find articles that might include a case study on my topic? Where is the Harvard Business Review located in the library?
Databases! Check them to find articles dealing with your particular topic. Do a keyword search. For example: "case studies and airlines" or "case  studies and management". Full-text articles and abstracts are available, depending on the journal.
    Business Source Complete
    EconLit
    ABI/INFORM

Tip: Use the subject heading "case studies" in ABI/INFORM and Business Source Complete

In print:  In Regenstein, HBR is under the call number HF5001.H3. That is on the B level on compact shelves. Current unbound issues are located in the Periodicals Reading Room, on the 2nd floor.

Online: Full-text HBR articles are available online from Business Source Complete going back to 1922.



Across the Midway: D'Angelo Law Library also has HBR from 1946-present. The call number is KA1.H32. Current issues are on Reserve.
Where can I find Harvard Business School case studies? Where can I find other case studies?
Ahh, yes. The pinnacle of business case-studies. Harvard Business Publishing makes a great deal of money selling these for business school course packs and will not make them available to libraries. You can, however, order them directly from HBS, around $6.50 each
How to find them:
  • Harvard Business School Publishing homepage. Search by company name, or choose a topic of interest. Abstracts are usually included
  • Check the Comprehensive Teaching Materials Catalog for specific topics. This is Harvard Business School's catalog of material used in the classroom. This book is located in Regenstein Library, First Floor Reading Room, call number HF1134.H4H4a. An abstract of the case study is given and will also tell you if it was published in HBR. This hasn't been updated for several years but it is good for finding older case studies.
  • The Harvard Business Review publishes one case study per issue. These generally deal with fictitious companies but are very good studies of current problems faced by companies.

The European Case Clearing House has international case studies available. The fee is $3.15 if ordered through their office at Babson College.

Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia has searchable collection of case studies online. Abstracts and video previews are available but you must purchase any studies that you want.

Stanford case studies are searchable online. Many of these are available for purchase through Harvard Business School Publishing

How can I contact a librarian?
Stop by. Call. E-mail.
Reference and Business Information Center
First Floor, Regenstein Library
Current Hours
Phone: 773.702.4685
Ask-A-Librarian Email