.
Business and Economics Subject Guides | International Business Research

International Company/Financial Information | International Statistical Data | International Text Based Databases

off-campus access | ask a librarian

International Company/Financial Information

Database Title

Publicly Traded Companies Privately Held Companies Ability to Make Lists of Companies Detailed Financial Data Company History Insider Trading or Joint Venture Data

Datastream
Terminals are located in Regenstein Library (first floor, PC A-9) and in the GSB Walker Computer Lab

Yes

No

Yes

No

No

No

Factiva

Yes

Yes

Yes
but only with publicly traded companies

Yes
the last 4 years for publicly traded companies only

Yes

No

Investext Plus

Yes

No

No

Yes
if in an analyst's report

No

No

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe

Yes

Yes

No

No

No

No

Mergent Online

Yes

No

No

Yes
the last 15 years

Yes

Yes

OneSource Global Business Browser GSB restricted, first time users must register

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes
the last 5 years for publicly traded companies only

No

No

Thomson Research

Yes

No

Yes
must download Citrix application and select Compact D tab

Yes
the last 10 years

No

Yes

Database Title

Publicly Traded Companies Privately Held Companies Ability to Make Lists of Companies Detailed Financial Data Company History Insider Trading or Joint Venture Data

 

 

International Statistical Data

Database Title

Economic Indicators

Securities Prices

Industry Statistics

Demographic & Social Indicators

Datastream
Terminals are located in Regenstein Library (first floor, PC A-9) and in the GSB Walker Computer Lab

Yes

Yes

No

No

EconStats

Yes

Yes
stock market indices and futures

No

No

Factiva

No

Yes
daily and weekly prices for 2 years
montly prices for 5 years

No

No

Global Market Information Database

Yes

No

Yes

Yes
enter "consumer lifestyles" in the Text search box for an overview of a country

International Financial Statistics

Yes

No

No

No

Macroeconomic Time Series Data Locator

Yes
a guide to economic data

No

Yes
a guide to industry statistics

Yes
a guide to demographic data

SourceOECD

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

STAT-USA

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

Statistical Universe

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

Thomson Research

No

Yes
only recent prices. In order to create a list you must download a Citrix application and select Compact D tab

No

No

United Nations Common Database

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

World Development Indicators
CD-ROM located in Regenstein Library - first floor, workstation A-11

Yes

No

Yes,
macroeconomic data related to certain industries

Yes

Database Title

Economic Indicators

Securities Prices

Industry Statistics

Demographic & Social Indicators

 

 

International Text-Based Databases

Database Title

Industry Overviews

Analyst Reports

Scholarly Articles

Trade Journals

Newspapers/Newswire Services

Country/Economic Overviews

ABI/Inform

Yes
Search:
"Industry Profiles and [industry name]"

No

Yes

Yes
although focus is on scholarly and major business publications

Yes
although focus is on scholarly and major business publications

Yes
Search:
"[location] and economic"

Business Source Premier

Yes
In Advanced Search mode note Refine Search tab and select Document Type "Industry Overview"

No

Yes

Yes
although focus is on scholarly and major business publications

Yes
although focus is on scholarly and major business publications

Yes
when viewing search results note the "Country Economic Data" link

CountryWatch

Yes
Contains key sector macroeconomic data

No

No

No

Yes

Yes

EconLit

Yes
although focus is on scholarly economic publications

No

Yes

No

No

Yes

Factiva

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes
if it is in an article

Database Title

Industry Overviews

Analyst Reports

Scholarly Articles

Trade Journals

Newspapers/Newswire Services

Country/Economic Overviews

Gartner Research IntraWeb

Yes
IT and telecom industries only

Yes
IT and telecom industries only

No

No

No

No

Global Market Information Database

Yes

No

No

No

No

No
statistics only

Investext Plus

Yes
Can limit by industry and location

Yes

No

No

No

Yes
can limit by industry and location

OneSource Global Business Browser GSB restricted, first time users must register

Yes

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

No

Source OECD

Yes

No

No

No

No

Yes

Stat-USA Note the Globus & NTDB link

Yes

No

No

No

No

Yes

Database Title

Industry Overviews

Analyst Reports

Scholarly Articles

Trade Journals

Newspapers/Newswire Services

Country/Economic Overviews

Off-campus access:
Access to our restricted databases is controled by IP address. If you are off campus you must be using a University of Chicago connectivity package, or the campus proxy server