Links to finding information on major industries are listed below. The primary focus is to list online sources, although relevent print publications are also included. Article databases are not included unless they focus specifically on an industry. If you do not find what you are looking for within these pages we highly recommend consulting our finding articles page or ask a librarian for help. A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - index
Industry Overviews
Journal linksAccounting & Tax Proquest Direct
Coverage of accounting and tax topics in leading business journals.AccountingStudents.Com
An online resource for accounting students, which features daily accounting news updates, a guide to tax & accounting resources on the Web, an online forum, employment information, and "tips, tricks and solutions for accounting students and working world neophytes."AuditNet
Internet Resources for Auditors, Accountants and Financial Professionals.CPANet
An online community for accountants that includes news, career information and professional resources.Global Market Information Database
Contains market research reports on "Accounting, Auditing and Bookkeeping" for selected countries.Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
Within "Business" there is an "Accounting" section covering journals and literature.OneSource Global Business Browser
Rutgers Accounting Web
Provides links to sources of national and international accounting information, such as FASB, SEC filings, journals, publishers, software, the International Accounting Network and Internet's Largest List of Accounting Firms in USA.
Search the online catalog for University of Chicago Library holdings.Accounting Review
Accounting Today
Journal of Accountancy
Journal of Accounting Research
Management AccountingAssociations
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
Various journals, audio/video publications and accounting standards available for free online.Financial Accounting Standards Board
Many exposure drafts, reports, projects and surveys available online for free.Financial Executives International
There are some reports and surveys available online for free. All other services are for members only.Government Accounting Standards Board
Free access to case studies and articles appears under the heading Performance Measures. Free access to exposure drafts, proposed statements, interpretations and technical bulletins. Summaries and Status sections for GASB Statements, Concept Statements and Interpretations.Institute of Management Accountants
Free access to journals such as Strategic Finance and Management Accounting Quarterly as well as IMA Studies and Statements on Management Accounting (SMAs).
Industry OverviewsAD*Access
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.Editor & Publisher Market Guide
Provides U.S. newspaper market information including rankings and demographic data.
f HD9722.E25 - Latest ed. Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection next to the Reference Desk. Earlier eds. Regenstein, BookstacksFactiva
Contains many advertising trade journals.Global Market Information Database
Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.OneSource Global Business Browser
The Prelinger Archives
A collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division.The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Located in Regenstein Library - HF5803.A38 Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference CollectionGlobal Entertainment and Media Outlook
Forecasts and economic analyses.
Located in Regenstein Library - HF5439.M267 G66 2000/04 Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection. There is also a CD-ROM version located at Circulation - [CDRom]HF5439.M267G66.Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of advertising industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.Journal links
Search the online catalog for University of Chicago Library holdings.Advertising Age
Adweek
International Journal of Advertising
Journal of Advertising ResearchAssociations
Advertising Research Foundation
American Association of Advertising Agencies
American Advertising Federation
Assocation of National Advertisers
Direct Marketing Association
International Advertising Association
Industry Overviews
Current Industrial Reports
Annual statistical data on the aerospace industry from the U.S. Census Bureau.Factiva
Contains aerospace industry trade journals.Federal Aviation Administration - Data & Statistics
Global Market Information Database
Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.Northwestern University Transportation Library
Note the links under "e-resources".OneSource Global Business Browser
Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.Aerospace Facts and Figures
Located in Regenstein Library. TL501.A888 (the latest edition is held in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older volumes located in the Regenstein Bookstacks)The Aviation & Aerospace Almanac
Located in the Crerar Library. HE9803.A1A9 (the latest edition is held within the Science Reference Collection).Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of aerospace/defense industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.Journal links
Search the online catalog for University of Chicago Library holdings.Aerospace Daily
Aviation Week and Space Technology
Defense Daily
Flying Safety
Space Business NewsAssociations
Aerospace Education Foundation
Aerospace Industries Association
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
ASM International - The Materials Information Society
Agricola
Articles relating to all aspects of agriculture.Agricultural Statistics
U.S. Department of Agriculture site providing agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.OneSource Global Business Browser
Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.Agricultural Statistics
U.S. Department of Agriculture yearbook. Located in Regenstein Library - HD1751.A147 (latest edition is in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older volumes are located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).OECD Agricultural Outlook
Provides an assessment of future trends and prospects of markets for the agricultural products traded by OECD countries. Located in Regenstein Library - HD1401.A338 (latest edition is in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older volumes are located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).Associations
see also AerospaceIndustry Overviews
Airline Information from the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Air traffic statistics and airline financial statistics.
Factiva
Contains airline industry trade journals.Federal Aviation Administration - Data & Statistics
Global Market Information Database
Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.Northwestern University Transportation Library
Note the links under "e-resources".Office of Aviation and International Affairs from the U.S. Department of Transportation.
Reports, studies and other publications.Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.TranStats: The International Transportation Database from the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
Aerospace Facts and Figures
Located in Regenstein Library. TL501.A888 (the latest edition is held in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older volumes located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography:The Airline Industry
Provides an overview of the industry from the beginning through 1991. Located in Regenstein Library - TL509.E540 1992 Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection.Globalization and Strategic Alliances: the case of the airline industry
Published in 2000. Located in Regenstein Library - HE9780.O96 Bookstacks.Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of air transport industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.World Air Transport Statistics
Located in Regenstein Library - HE9911.W9 (the latest edition is held in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older volumes located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).Journal links
Search the online catalog for University of Chicago Library holdings.Air Transport World
Airline Financial News
Aviation Daily
Aviation Week and Space Technology
World Airline NewsAssociations
Current Industrial Reports
Annual statistical data on the apparel industry from the U.S. Census Bureau. There are reports on "Consumption on the Woolen System" and "Worsted Combing", "Yarn Production", "Knit Fabric Production", "Consumption on the Cotton System and Stocks", "Broadwoven Fabrics", "Appare"l, and "Gloves and Mittens".Global Market Information Database
Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.OneSource Global Business Browser
Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of shoe and apparel industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.Journal links
Research Centers and Associations
Business Monitor Online
Market research reports emphasizing emerging markets.Factiva
Contains many automotive industry trade journals.Global Market Information Database
Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.Northwestern University Transportation Library
Note the links under "e-resources".OneSource Global Business Browser
Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.TranStats: The International Transportation Database from the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
Automotive News Market Data Book
Located in Regenstein Library - f HD9710.U4A1A9 (latest edition located in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older volumes located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography: The Automobile Industry 1896-1920
Located in Regenstein Library - HD9710.U52A8150 1990 Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography: The Automobile Industry 1920-1980
Located in Regenstein Library - HD9710.U52A790 1989 Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference CollectionValue Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of auto and auto parts industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.Ward's Automotive Year Book
Located in Regenstein Library - HD9710.A1W3 (latest edition located in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older volumes located in the Regenstein Bookstacks)World Automotive Market Report
Statistical data. Located in Regenstein Library - HD9710.A1W9 (latest edition located in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older volumes located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).Journal links
