The University of Chicago Library
Business and Economics Subject Guides | Industries A-Z
Links to finding information on major industries are listed below. The primary focus is to list online sources, although relevent print publications are also included. Article databases are not included unless they focus specifically on an industry. If you do not find what you are looking for within these pages we highly recommend consulting our finding articles page or ask a librarian for help.

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - index


Banking

Industry Overviews

Banking Information Source via ProQuest Direct
Coverage of essential banking industry publications providing information about the financial services industry, banking and industry trends.

Business Monitor Online
Global market research reports emphasizing emerging markets.

Factiva
Contains many banking industry trade journals.

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation

Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC)
Wonderfully detailed data is located here.

Federal Reserve Board - Research and Data
Federal Reserve Board - Publications

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

National Information Center
The National Information Center (NIC) provides comprehensive information on banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has a supervisory, regulatory, or research interest including both domestic and foreign banking organizations operating in the U.S. The NIC includes the organizational structure of financial institutions and financial information for some of those institutions. Historical information is available on the structure of all the institutions. Financial information is available for selected time periods.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.

Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography: Banking and Finance, 1913-1989
HG2481.B3250 1990 - Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection

Statistics on Banking
HG2493.S7 - Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection (older volumes located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).

Statistics on Banking: Historical 1934-1996
HG2493.H58 - Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of bank industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located on the first floor reading room of Regenstein Library. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal links

ABA Banking Journal
American Banker
Applied Financial Economics
Bank Accounting & Finance
Bank Loan Report
Bank Marketing
Bank Network News
Bank Rate Monitor
Bank Systems & Technology
Bank Technology News
EFT Report
(Electronic Funds Transfer)
Financial Services Marketing
Future Banker
Journal of Bank Cost and Management Accounting
Journal of Lending and Credit Risk Management
Journal of Money Credit and Banking
Item Processing Report
US Banker

Web Finance

Associations


Beverages

Industry Overviews

Business Monitor Online
Global market research reports emphasizing emerging markets.

Factiva
Contains many beverage industry trade journals.

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has a section on "Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco" and one on "Foods & Nonalcoholic Beverages"

Adams Liquor Handbook
HD9352.L7 - Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection (older volumes located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of beverage industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the reading room on the first floor of Regenstein Library. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Who's Buying Alcoholic and Nonalcoholic Beverages (2005)
HD9348.U52 W46 2005 - Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection

Journal links


Biotechnology

Industry Overviews

Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS)
Broad coverage is provided of all life sciences research, including botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as such interdisciplinary fields as clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology.

COMPENDEX/Engineering Index
The internet version of Engineering Index, the largest international source of engineering abstracts.

Factiva
Contains many biotechnology industry trade journals.

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

OneSource Global Business Browser

PUBMED
A new interface to the MEDLINE database from the National Center for Biotechnology Information and the National Library of Medicine. This database indexes over 3900 journals in medicine, nursing and dentistry.

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has a section on "Biotechnology".

Journal links