Skip to content
The University of Chicago Library

Industries A-Z

Links to finding information on major industries are listed below. The primary focus is to list online sources, although relevent print publications are also included. Article databases are not included unless they focus specifically on an industry. If you do not find what you are looking for within these pages we highly recommend consulting our finding articles page or ask a librarian for help.

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - index


Chemicals

Industry Overviews

Business Monitor Online
Market research reports emphasizing emerging markets.

Business Source Complete

Chemical & Engineering News

Current Industrial Reports
Annual statistical data on the chemical industry from the U.S. Census Bureau. There are reports on "Inorganic Chemicals".

Encyclopedia of chemical technology
Most chemicals/products/industry segments have a section called "Economic aspects" -- for an example try searching "economic aspects pharmaceuticals"

Factiva
Contains many chemical industry trade journals.

Global Market Information Database

The Innovation Group
The Innovation Group provides management consulting services. From their page, you may click on the "Chemical Profiles" button to find industry overviews on various chemicals. It often lists the major producers of a chemical, demand, growth, price, uses, strengths, weaknesses, outlook, and some historical data.

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

OneSource Global Business Browser

OPD Search Chemical Buyers Directory
Purchasing information for chemicals and chemical services. A listing of suppliers and source products.
Also available in hard copy and known as OPD Chemical Buyers Directory. TP12.O61 - Sci, Last v. RR, Next to last v. SciRef.

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has sections on "Chemicals: Basic" and "Chemiclas: Specialty".

Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry

Chem sources U.S.A.
Crerar Library TP12.C443 - Last v. SciRef, backfile Sci.

The Chemical Industry In .... Annual Review
A United Nations publication.
Located in Regenstein Library - HD9650.1.A5 (latest edition in RR - all other volumes located in the general bookstacks).

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of chemical industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located on the reading room on the first floor. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journals


Computers
see also Electronic Commerce

Industry Overviews

Burton Group
Market research on information technology. Registration required for access.

Business Monitor Online
Market research reports emphasizing emerging markets.

Business Source Complete

Current Industrial Reports
Annual statistical data on the computer industry from the U.S. Census Bureau. There are reports on "Computers and Office and Accounting Machines".

Entertainment Software Association
U.S. computer and video game software information.

Factiva
Contains many computer industry trade journals.

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

A Nation Online: How Americans Are Expanding Their Use of the Internet
U.S. Departmet of Commerce.

OneSource Global Business Browser

SourceOECD
OECD publications and statistics available online. There is a section entitled 'Science & Information Technology".

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has many sections on specific segments of the computer industry.

Advances in Computers
Located in Eckhart Library - QA76.A1A21

Communications Outlook
Biennial OECD publication. Contains a chapter on the "Internet Infrastructure" of OECD countries.
Available on SourceOECD and also located in Regenstein Library - HE760.C66 (latest edition in RR - all other editions located in the general bookstacks.

Digital America: The U.S. Consumer Electronics Industry
Located in Regenstein Library - HD9971.5.E543U54 (latest edition in RR - older editions located in the general bookstacks).

Electronic Market Data Book
Provides statistical data on consumer electonic products. Located in Regenstein Library - HD9696.A1E37 (latest edition held in RR - all others located in the general bookstacks).

Information Technology Outlook (available online at SourceOECD)
(OECD Publication)
Located in Regenstein Library - HC79.I55I56 (latest edition in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older editions located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of computer industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the reading room on the first floor. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal links

Research Centers and Associations

Concord Consortium
Special Interest Group on Management of Data


Construction

Industry Overviews

American Community Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau

Building Construction Cost Data
TH435.B84 - Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection

Business Monitor Online
Market research reports emphasizing emerging markets. Select "Infrustructure" as a service for information on the construction industry.

Business Source Complete

Construction Statistics
From the U.S. Census Bureau.

Current Industrial Reports
Annual statistical data on the constuction industry from the U.S. Census Bureau. There are reports on
"Clay Construction Products" and also on "Construction Machinery".

Factiva
Contains many constuction industry trade journals.

The Home improvement market : reference guide
Statistics from the Home Improvement Research Institute
HD9999.D623U5425 - Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection

International Construction Cost Surveys
International project and cost management papers from Gardiner & Theobald.

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Joint Center for Housing Studies
The Joint Center for Housing Studies is Harvard University's center for information and research on housing in the United States. The Joint Center analyzes the dynamic relationships between housing markets and economic, demographic, and social trends, providing leaders in government, business, and the non-profit sector with the knowledge needed to develop effective policies and strategies.

OneSource Global Business Browser

RS Means Heavy Construction Cost Data
TH435.M4291 - Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection

R.S. Means Open Shop Building Construction Cost Data
TH435.O52 - Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection

Square Foot Costs
TH435.M44 - Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has a section on the homebuilding industry.

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of various construction industry stocks such as the "Builidng Materials" and "Homebuilding" industries. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located on the A-level within RRA. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal Links

Associations


Consulting

Industry Overviews

Business Source Complete

Global Market Information Database
Provides Market Reports on management and marketing and computer consulting.

Investext Plus
Analyst reports.

STAT-USA
For overviews of sectors of the consulting industry outside of the United States. Go into the Globus & NTDB section. Note the section labeled Market and Country Research.

Consultants and consulting organizations directory
HD69.C6C647 - Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection next to the Reference Desk (older editions in Regenstein Stacks)

The consultant's calling : bringing who you are to what you do
Geoffrey M. Bellman
HD69.C6 B45 2002 - Regenstein Bookstacks

The Harvard Business School guide to careers in management consulting
HD69.C6M37 - Latest vol. Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection. Earlier vols. Regenstein, Bookstacks

International guide to management consultancy : the evolution, practice and structure of management consultancy worldwide
London : Kogan Page, 2001
HD69.C6 I58 2001 - Regenstein Bookstacks

Management consulting : emergence and dynamics of a knowledge industry
New York : Oxford University Press, 2002
HD69.C6 M3655 2002 - Regenstein Stacks

Associations
Institute of Mangement Consultants


Cosmetics

Industry Overviews

Business Source Complete

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
There is some industry data on cosmetics/toiletries within the "Household Nondurables" section.

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of "Toiletries/Cosmetics" industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the reading room on the first floor. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRomHG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal Links


Credit Cards

Industry Overviews

Business Source Complete

Banking Information Source via ProQuest Direct
Coverage of essential banking industry publications providing information about the credit card industry. Perform a "Guided" (as opposed to "Basic") search for articles on the latest industry trends. Enter "credit card industry" and change the drop box from "Basic Fields" to "Subject".

Factiva
Contains many credit card industry trade journals.

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

Statistical Universe
Perform a search within the "Power Tables" section in order to obtain basic statistics involving the credit card industry.

Journal Links