Skip to content
The University of Chicago Library

Industries A-Z

Links to finding information on major industries are listed below. The primary focus is to list online sources, although relevent print publications are also included. Article databases are not included unless they focus specifically on an industry. If you do not find what you are looking for within these pages we highly recommend consulting our finding articles page or ask a librarian for help.

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - Index


Electric Utilities

Industry Overviews

Annual Energy Outlook
Prepared by the Energy Information Administration (EIA).

Annual Energy Review
Prepared by the Energy Information Administration (EIA).

Business Monitor Online
Market research reports emphasizing emerging markets. Select "Infrastructure" as a service for information on the utilities industry

Factiva
Contains many energy industry trade journals.

Electricity - from the Energy Information Administration
Contains statistical data as well as essays on the industry.

Energy Information Administration (home page)
Energy statistics from the U.S. government.

Mergent Online
Formerly FIS Online. Contains financial and other information concerning publicly-held utility companies.

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

SourceOECD
OECD publications and statistics available online. There is a section entitled "Energy".

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Contains a section on "Electric Utilities".

Energy Prices and Taxes see also SourceOECD
Quarterly OECD publication.
HD9502.A1E545 - Latest unbound issues located in Regenstein Current Periodicals Reading Room, 2nd Floor (older editions in the Regenstein Bookstacks).

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of electric utility stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal Links


Electronic Commerce

Industry Overviews

Business Monitor Online
Market research reports emphasizing emerging markets.

E-Commerce Times

E-Stats: Measuring the Electronic Economy
U.S. Census Bureau

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

National Telecommunications and Information Administration: Publications and Reports
U.S. Departmet of Commerce. Note the report Networked Nation: Broadband in America 2007.

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various industries within the "Information Sector" of this report.

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has many sections on specific segments of the computer industry including "Computers: Consumer Services & the Internet".

Digital America: The U.S. Consumer Electronics Industry
HD9971.5.E543U54 (latest edition in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older editions located in Regenstein Bookstacks).

Information Technology Outlook (available online at SourceOECD)
(OECD Publication)
HC79.I55I56 (latest edition in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older editions located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of computer industry stocks. There is an industry analysis of "E-Commerce".
Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter.

Journal Links


Electronic Information Services

Industry Overviews

Burton Group
Market research on information technology. Registration required for access.

Business Monitor Online
Market research reports emphasizing emerging markets.

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Library Literature
An Index to Library and Information Science Publications.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

A Nation Online
U.S. Departmet of Commerce.

Pew Internet & American Life Project
Reports, presentations, data and the latest trends. If you click on the "Learn more" links you are usually led to the complete document, broadcast, etc.

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various industries within the "Information Sector" of this report.

Software and Information Industry Association

SourceOECD
OECD publications and statistics available online. There is a section entitled 'Science & Information Technology".

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has many sections on specific segments of the computer industry including "Computers: Consumer Services & the Internet".

Annual Review of Information Science and Technology
Z699.A1A61 latest volume Regenstein, 2nd Floor Reference Collection, all others in the Regenstein Bookstacks.

Encyclopedia of Information Systems
Located in Regenstein Library - T58.5.E53 2003 Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection.

Information Science Abstracts
Z699.A1D631 - Regenstein, 2nd Floor Reference Collection

Information Technology Outlook (available online at SourceOECD)
(OECD Publication)
HC79.I55I56 (latest edition in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - older editions located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).

Journal Links

Associations

Software and Information Industry Association


Electronics

Industry Overviews

Burton Group
Market research on information technology. Registration required for access.

Current Industrial Reports
Annual statistical data on various industries from the U.S. Census Bureau. There are reports on "Communication and other Electronic Equipment", "Consumer Electronics", "Electric Houswares and Fans", "Electric Lighting Fixtures", "Major Household Appliances", and "Refrigeration and Heating Equipment".

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Global Market Information Database

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has a section entitled "Household Durables" that covers the electronics/appliance industry quite well.

Digital America: The U.S. Consumer Electronics Industry
HD9971.5.E543U54 - The latest edition in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection (older editions located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).

Electronic Market Databook
HD9696.A1E37 - The latest edistion is in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection (older editions are located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of electronics industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal Links


Employee Benefit Plans

Industry Overviews

Accounting and Tax
An index of accounting journals within ProQuest Direct.

Benefit Fundamentals
The fundamentals of employee benefits by the Employee Benefit Research Institute.

Benefits.net
Human resources, benefits and compensation news, publications, meetings, legislation, bulletins, and research.

BenefitsLink
Compliance information and research information for employee benefit plan sponsors, service-providers and participants.

BNA Benefits Practice Center
Features pension and benefits reference services, extensive public domain material, highlights from BNA's news service and Web Links.

Compensation and Working Conditions Online
From the U.S. Department of Labor. Reports on employee compensation, including wages, salaries, benefits, and occupational injuries and illnesses. In addition, it contains a current statistical section on employer costs for employee compensation, employee benefits, and safety and health.
HD4973.A4 - The latest unbound issues are located in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection. Older editions are bound and in the Regenstein Bookstacks.

Occupational Employment Statistics
Contains occupational employment and wage estimates at the national, state and metropolitan area levels. Produced by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Report on the American Workforce
From the U.S. Department of Labor. Contains tabular statistics, including employment, unemployment, price indexes, consumer expenditures, employee benefits (retirement, insurance, vacation, etc.), wages, etc.
HD8051.R45. Last v. Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection, backfile Regenstein Bookstacks.

Social Security Online
Research and statistics from the U.S. Social Security Administration.

Journal Links


Entertainment

Industry Overviews

Factiva
Contains many leisure and arts industry trade journals.

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various industries within the "Arts, Entertainment and Recreation Services" section of this report.

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Contains overviews of "Broadcasting & Cable", "Leisure Products", "Movies & Home Entertainment", etc.

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
Contains marketing and demographic statistics as well as a highly detailed directory.
HE8689.B77 (latest edition in Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection - all other editions located in the Regenstein Bookstacks).

Entertainment Industry Economics: A Guide for Financial Analysis
4th edition (1998). PN1590.F55 V6 1998 - Regenstein Bookstacks.

Global Entertainment and Media Outlook
Forecasts and economic analyses.
Located in Regenstein Library - HF5439.M267 G66 2000/04 RR. There is also a CD-ROM version located at Circulation - [CDRom]HF5439.M267G66.

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of "Entertainment" and "Cable TV" industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located on the A-level within RRA. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal Links

Associations


Environment

Industry Overviews

Carnegie Mellon Green Design Initiative
An interdisciplinary research effort to make an impact on environmental quality through green design.

Factiva
Contains many environment and waste management industry trade journals.

EcoMarket International
European platform on green products, services and information.

ehponline (Environmental Health Perspectives)

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

OneSource Global Business Browser

SourceOECD
OECD publications and statistics available online. There is a section entitled "Environment & Sustainable Development".

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has a section entitled "Environment & Waste Management".

United Nations Environment Program

Earth almanac : an annual geophysical review of the state of the planet
John Crerar Library Crerar Reference, floor 1 Call # QB630.E27 Sci, last v. SciRef

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of "Environmental" industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

World Development Indicators
A World Bank publication. Contains a section on natural resources and environmental changes.
HC59.15.W656 Last v. Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection; backfile Regenstein Bookstacks.

World Resources
Jointly published by the United Nations, World Bank and the World Resources Institute.
HC10.W6 Last v. Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection; backfile Regenstein Bookstacks.

Journal Links


Export-Import Trade

Industry Overviews

Bureau of Economic Analysis
U.S. Department of Commerce.

EconLit
Provides citations for articles, dissertations and books.

Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb
Produced by the United States International Trade Commission. Customized import and export data that may be viewed by country, value, etc. or HTS, SIC, SITC, and NAICS codes. You must create a free account in order to access.

PAIS International (Public Affiars Information Service)
Provides selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries on trade and trade policy.

SourceOECD
OECD publications and statistics available online. There is a section entitled 'Industry, Services and Trade".

STAT-USA
STAT-USA, an agency in the Economics and Statistics Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce delivers economic, business, and international
trade information. Note the GLOBUS & NTDB section.

United Nations Common Database
UNSTATS provides selected series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas. It has the ability to download the data into an MS Excel spreadsheet.

USA Trade Online
Provides import/export statistics by customs port area, country and commodity. Has the ability to download the data into an Excel spreadsheet

U.S. Exports of Merchandise (CD-ROM)
U.S. Bureau of the Census. Provides most extensive detail available including product, quantity, value, shipping weight, and country of destitination.
CDRomHF3000.U165 - Regenstein, Multimedia: Ask at 1st Floor Circulation.

U.S. Imports of Merchandise (CD-ROM)
U.S. Bureau of the Census. Provides most extensive detail available including product, quantity, value, shipping weight, and country of origin.
CDRomHF1419.U15 - Regenstein, Multimedia: Ask at 1st Floor Circulation.

Annual Report on Exchange Arrangements and Exchange Restrictions
International Monetary Fund.
HG3834.I613 - Last V. Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection, all other editions located in the Regenstein Bookstacks.

Directory of American firms operating in foreign countries
HG4538.A1D6 - Last V. Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection, all other editions located in the Regenstein Bookstacks.

International Trade by Commodities Statistics
OECD
[f`]HF91.O6611 - Last V. Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection, all other editions located in the Regenstein Bookstacks.

International Trade Statistics Yearbook
HF91.U47 - Last V. Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection, all other editions located in the Regenstein Bookstacks.

Trade Policy Review [name of country]
Geneva : General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade
Location: see our online catalog.

UNCTAD handbook of statistics United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
HF499.U5a - Last V. Regenstein, 1st Floor Reference Collection, all other editions located in the Regenstein Bookstacks.

Journal Links