Skip to content
The University of Chicago Library

Industries A-Z

Links to finding information on major industries are listed below. The primary focus is to list online sources, although relevent print publications are also included. Article databases are not included unless they focus specifically on an industry. If you do not find what you are looking for within these pages we highly recommend consulting our finding articles page or ask a librarian for help.

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - index


Finance

Industry Overviews

Banking Information Source
Coverage of essential banking industry publications via ProQuest Direct.

Factiva
Contains many securities and investment industry trade journals.

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various industries within the "Securities, Commodities, and other Financial Investments" section of this report.

SourceOECD
OECD publications and statistics available online. There is a section entitled "Finance & Investment".

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Covers the "Financial Services: Diversified" industry.

Finance, Insurance & Real Estate USA
A guide to statistics on major sectors of the finance industry.
Located in Joseph Regenstein Library first floor Reading Rm, HG181.F56

A Financial History of the United States
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2002
v. 1. From Christopher Columbus to the Robber Barons (1492-1900) -- v. 2. From J.P. Morgan to the institutional investor (1900-1970) -- v. 3. From the age of derivatives into the new millennium (1970-2001)
HG181.M297 2002 - Regenstein Reading Room Floor 1, Harper Library, and D'Angelo Law Reference

Financial Market Trends
Provides information on trends and prospects in the international and major domestic financial markets of the OECD area.
Located in Joseph Regenstein Library - the latest unbound issues in the 2nd floor periodicals room, older issues in the general bookstacks - HG136.F56. This is also available online at SourceOECD

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of financial services industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # €CDRom€HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal Links

Associations

 


Food
see also supermarkets

Industry Overviews

AGRICOLA
Describes materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library and cooperating institutions. Subjects include: agriculture, forestry, and animal science. Not a lot of full-text available online - mostly citations and abstracts.

Business Monitor Online
Global market research reports emphasizing emerging markets.

Factiva
Contains many food, beverage and tobacco industry trade journals.

Food Review
Produced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Periodical published 3 times a year that often provides an overview of a particular food product - such as frozen potatoes.

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser

SourceOECD
OECD publications and statistics available online. Note the sections on "Agriculture and Food".

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Covers the "Foods & Nonalcoholic Beverages" industry.

The State of Food and Agriculture ...; a survey of world conditions and prospects.
An annual publication located in the Crerar Library Stacks TX353.F677

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of such catagories as "Food Processing", "Food Wholesalers" and "Grocery" industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # €CDRom€HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Packaging Technology
1997
Located in Crerar Reference, floor 1 TS195.A2W55 1997

Journal Links

Associations


Foundations

The Council on Foundations
Through Research, publications, conferences and workshops, legal services, and a wide array of other services, the Council addresses the important issues and challenges that face foundations and corporate funders.

The Donors Forum
A resource for networking and education, information and knowledge, and leadership on behalf of philanthropy in Illinois.

The Foundation Center
Collect, organize, and communicate information on U.S. philanthropy. Conduct and facilitate research on trends in the field. Provide education and training on the grantseeking process.

Independent Sector
Includes nonprofit sector statistics.

America's New Foundations: The Sourcebook on Recently Created Philanthropies
Located in Reading Rm, floor 1 Regenstein HV89.A6

Corporate Giving Directory
Profiles of America's major corporate foundations and corporate charitable giving programs.
Located in Regenstein Library HV97.A3T29 Gen, Last v. RR.

Directory of Corporate and Foundation Givers: A National Listing of the 8,000 Major Funding Sources for Nonprofits
Located in Reading Rm, floor 1 Regenstein HG4028.C6D567

The Foundation Directory
Located at call number AS911.A2F75 Gen, Last ed. RR, Next to last ed. SciRef, third to last ed. SSAd.

Foundation Grants Index
A cumulative record of foundation grants indexed by field of interest, which appears in Foundation News.
Located in Regenstein Library AS911.A2F7505 Gen, Last v. RR.

Guide to U.S. foundations, their trustees, officers, and donors
The latest edition is located in Regenstein Library first floor reference, next to last v. SciRef, and all older editions are in Regenstein Gen bookstacks.
Located in Regenstein Bookstacks AS911.A2N3

International Foundation Directory
Located in Regenstein Library HV7.I625 Gen, Last v. RR.

Nonprofit sector yellow book: who's who in the management of the leading foundations, universities, museums, and other nonprofit organizations
Located in D'Angelo Law Library, Career Services HD2769.2.U6N66.

Sorkins' Directory of Business & Government (Chicago Edition)
For Chicago information only.
Located in Regenstein Library HF5068.C4S67 Gen, Last v. RR.

World Guide to Foundations
Located in Regenstein Library AS911.A2W585 Gen, Last v. RR.


Futures
see also Derivatives or Securities

Industry Overviews

Banking Information Source via ProQuest Direct.
Coverage of essential banking industry publications providing information about the financial services industry.

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Introduction to Futures and Options Markets by John C. Hull.
Located in Regenstein Library general bookstacks - HG6024.A3H84 1998 (often this book is held at the reserve desk for a class - please consult the online catalog).

Journal Links

Associations