Skip to content
The University of Chicago Library

Industries A-Z

Links to finding information on major industries are listed below. The primary focus is to list online sources, although relevent print publications are also included. Article databases are not included unless they focus specifically on an industry. If you do not find what you are looking for within these pages we highly recommend consulting our finding articles page or ask a librarian for help.

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - index


Packaging

Industry Overviews

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser

The Total Package: the evolution and secret meanings of boxes, bottles, cans, and tubes
by Thomas Hine. Published in 1995.
Located in Regenstein Stacks HF5770.H560 1995

Wiley Encyclopedia of Packaging Technology
1997
Located in Crerar Reference, floor 1 TS195.A2W55 1997.

Associations and Research Centers

Can Manufacturers Institute
Flexible Packaging Association
Tag & Label Manufacturers Institute

Journal Links

Packaging Digest
Packaging Machinery Manufacturers Institute
Packaging Technology and Science


Pet Industry

Industry Overviews

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Associations


Petroleum

Industry Overviews

Annual Energy Review
From the U.S. Energy Information Administration
The chapter on petroleum contains statistics going back as far as 1949.

Business Monitor Online
Market research reports emphasizing emerging markets. See "Oil & Gas" and/or "Petrochemicals" services for reports on particular countries.

CPI Detailed Report
Cost of living data produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
This is also available in Regenstein Library. Unbound issues are in the 2nd floor periodcials room and the older issues are within the Gen bookstacks at HD6983.A311.

Factiva
Contains many energy industry trade journals.

Mergent Online
Formerly FIS Online. This is the online equivalent to the Moody's Manuals. Contains financial and historica information on publicly-held petroleum and utility companies.

Fuel and Energy Abstracts
A summary of world literature on all technical, scientific, commercial and environmental aspects of fuel and energy.

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Real Petroleum Prices
From the U.S. Energy Information Administration
Includes a link to an spreadsheet that contains gasoline prices back to 1919.

SourceOECD

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys. Covers the "Oil & Gas: Equipment & Services" and the "Oil & Gas: Production & Marketing" industries.

Energy Balances of Non-OECD Countries see also SourceOECD
Located in Regenstein Library HD9502.D44E532 Last v. RR; Backfile Gen

Energy Balances of OECD Countries see also SourceOECD
Located in Regenstein Library HD9502.A1O74a Gen, Last v. RR.

Gas Facts see also The American Gas Association
Located in Crerar Library Sci, Last v. SciRef.

Global Oil and Gas Directory
Published by the Financial Times. Primarily a business directory with corporate and financial data.
Located in Regenstein Library HG4821.W231 Last v. RR, Next to last v. SciRef; Backfile Gen.

International Petroleum Encyclopedia
Includes statistics and an international overview of the market.
Located in Regenstein Library f HD9560.1.I565 Gen, Last v. RR.

Manual of oil and gas terms : annotated manual of legal, engineering and tax words and phrases
D'Angelo Law Stacks XXKF1847.5.W540 1994

Transportation and public utilities USA : industry analyses, statistics, and leading companies
Located in the Regenstein Library first floor Reading Rm, HE202.5.T72.

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of petroleum industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal Links

Associations


Pharmaceuticals

Industry Overviews

Annual Review of Pharmacology and Toxology
Also available in the John Crerar Library - call number RM16.A61.

Business Monitor Online
Market research reports emphasizing emerging markets.

Current Industrial Reports
Contains a section on "Pharmaceutical Preperations".

Drug Information Pathfinder
Produced by the FDA/Center for Drug Evaluation and Research. General drug information index.

Drugs@FDA
A catalog of FDA approved drug products. Approved and tentatively approved prescription, over-the-counter, and discontinued drugs. Drug approval letters, labels, and review packages.

Electronic Orange Book
Produced by the FDA. Approved drug products with therapeutic equivalence evaluations.

Encyclopedia of chemical technology
Most chemicals/products/industry segments have a section called "Economic aspects" -- for an example try searching "economic aspects pharmaceuticals".

Factiva
Contains many pharaceuticals industry trade journals.

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

MEDLINE on Ovid
National Library of Medicine database indexing over 3200 journals in medicine, nursing and dentistry. Covers 1966 to the present.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

National Drug Code Directory
Produced by the FDA/Center for Drug Evaluation and Research.

OneSource Global Business Browser

OPD Search Chemical Buyers Directory
Purchasing information for chemicals and chemical services. A listing of suppliers and source products.
Also available in hard copy and known as OPD Chemical Buyers Directory. TP12.O61 - Sci, Last v. RR, Next to last v. SciRef.

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Covers the "Healthecare: Pharmaceuticals" industry.

TOXNET
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.

American Drug Index
John Crerar Library Crerar Reference, floor 1 - call number RS355.A5.

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of drug and drugstore industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal links

Research Centers and Associations


Publishing

Industry Overviews

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various aspects of the publishing industry within the "Information Sector" of this report.

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has a section on "Publishing".

Audit Bureau of Circulation eCirc
Free web site that provides circulation statistics for newspapers and consumer and business magazines.

The Bowker Annual Library and Book Trade Almanac
Latest ed. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Earlier eds. Regenstein, Stacks - Z731.A4751

Global Entertainment and Media Outlook
Forecasts and economic analyses.
Located in Regenstein Library - HF5439.M267 G66 2000/04 RR. There is also a CD-ROM version located at Circulation - [CDRom]HF5439.M267G66.

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of publishing industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal Links