Skip to content
The University of Chicago Library

Industries A-Z

 

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - index


Radio
Industry Overviews

Business Source Complete
Contains industry profiles and market research reports as well as journal articles.

Global Market Information Database
Contains market research reports.

Investext Plus
Contains analyst reports.

Mintel Reports
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various aspects of the radio industry within the "Information Sector" of this report.

SourceOECD
Contains OECD Information Technology Outlook.

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
Select the "Industries" tab.

Broadcasting & cable yearbook
Latest ed. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1, next to the Reference Desk. Earlier eds. Regenstein, Stacks - HE8689.B77

Journal Links
Broadcast Engineering
Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media
Associations
National Association of Broadcasters


Restaurants

Industry Overviews

Global Market Information Database
Contains market research reports.

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Contains a section on "Restaurants". A portion of this report also appears in OneSource within the "Profile - Industry" section..

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of restaurant industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter. Check the Library Catalog for complete holdings.

Journal Links

Trade Associations


Retail Trade
see also Apparel

Industry Overviews

Factiva
Contains many retail industry trade journals.

Global Market Information Database
Contains market research reports.

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has sections on "Retailing: General" and "Retailing: Specialty".

Dollars & Cents of Shopping Centers
A study of receipts and expenses in shopping center operations.
Located in Regenstein Library - HF5430.3.U7 (latest edition in RR - older volumes located in the general bookstacks).

Plunkett's retail industry almanac
HF5429.3.P57 - Latest vol. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Earlier vols. Regenstein, stacks
CD-ROM HF5429.3.P57 - Regenstein, Multimedia: Ask at Circulation, Floor 1

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of retail industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located on the A-level within RRA. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter.

World Retail Data & Statistics
Located in Regenstein Library - HF5429.E914 RR.

Journal Links

Research Centers and Associations


Retirement
Industry and Market Overviews

The U.S. Administration on Aging
Includes a "Profile of Older Americans"

AgeLine
The AGELINE database is produced by the American Association of Retried Persons (AARP). AGELINE provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology, which is the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. The delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies is covered, as are consumer, employment, and public policy issues. Literature covered is of interest to researchers, health professionals, service planners, policymakers, employers, older adults and their families, and consumer advocates.

Business Source Premier
After you perform your search note the option to select "Market Research Reports".

Consumer Expenditure Survey
U.S. Department of Labor

Global Market Information Database
Once at the main search page you may enter "consumer lifestyles" in the Text search box on the left.

Income of the Population 55 and Older
Issued by the U.S. Social Security Administration.

Mintel Reports
Includes market research reports such as "Lifestyles of Older Adults".
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

SourceOECD
Contains titles such as "Pensions at a Glance" and "Aging and Employment Policies".

The encyclopedia of aging : a comprehensive resource in gerontology and geriatrics
HQ1061.E53 2001 - Regenstein Reading Room Floor 4 and also Crerar Reference Floor 1

Journal Link
Journal of Aging Studies
Research Centers, Institutes, and Trade/Professional Associations
American Association of Retired Persons: Policy and Research
Center for Mature Consumer Studies
Employee Benefit Research Institute