Skip to content
The University of Chicago Library

Industries A-Z

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - index


Telecommunications
see also Mobile Telephones

Industry Overviews

Burton Group
Market research on information technology. Registration required for access.

Business Monitor Online
Market research reports emphasizing emerging markets.

Current Industrial Reports
Annual statistical data on "Communication and Other Electronic Equipment" from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Factiva
Contains many telecommunications industry trade journals.

Global Market Information Database
Market research reports and statistics.

International Telecommunication Union
Note the "telecommunication indicators" section within the "Publications" area. But also have a look around. Some interesting reports can be found.

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

A Nation Online: How Americans Are Expanding Their Use of the Internet
U.S. Departmet of Commerce.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various aspects of the telecommunications industry within the "Information Sector" of this report.

SourceOECD
OECD publications and statistics available online. Note that the "Statistics" section has a section on Telecommunications. There is a section entitled 'Science & Information Technology".

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has sections on "Telecommunications: Wireless " and "Telecommunications: Wireline".

Communications Outlook
Biennial OECD publication. Available on SourceOECD and also located in Regenstein Library - HE760.C66 (latest edition in RR - all other editions located in the general bookstacks.

Digital America: The U.S. Consumer Electronics Industry
Located in Regenstein Library - HD9971.5.E543U54 (latest edition in RR - older editions located in the general bookstacks).

Electronic Market Data Book
Provides statistical data on consumer electonic products. Located in Regenstein Library - HD9696.A1E37 (latest edition held in RR - all others located in the general bookstacks).

Value Line Investment Survey
Provides an overview of telecommunications industry stocks. Located in Regenstein Library in both paper and CD-ROM formats. The latest paper copy is held at the circulation counter on the first floor and the latest CD-ROM is located in the first floor reading room. You may check out older CD-ROMS (call # CDRom HG4501.V263) from the Regenstein circulation counter.

Journal Links


Television
see also Entertainment

Industry Overviews

Archive of American Television
Founded in 1997, the Television Academy Foundation’s Archive of American Television has conducted over 600 long-form videotaped interviews with the pioneers and legends of television. The Archive’s vision is to chronicle electronic media history as it evolves, whatever form it may take and make the interviews available worldwide.

Factiva
Contains many media and consumer product industry trade journals.

Global Market Information Database
Contains market research reports and statistics.

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

Museum of Broadcast Communication

OneSource Global Business Browser

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various broadcasting industries within the "Information Sector" of this report.

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Contains an overview of the "Broadcasting & Cable" industry.

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
Contains marketing and demographic statistics as well as a highly detailed directory.
Located in Regenstein Library - HE8689.B77 (latest edition in RR - all other editions located in the general bookstacks).

Communication Abstracts
Covers major communication-related articles, reports, and books on a world-wide scale.
Located in Regenstein Library - P87.C73 RR2.

Communications Outlook
Biennial OECD publication. Contains a chapter on "Broadcasting Services" in OECD countries.
Available on SourceOECD and also located in Regenstein Library - HE760.C66 (latest edition in RR - all other editions located in the general bookstacks.

Digital America: The U.S. Consumer Electronics Industry
Located in Regenstein Library - HD9971.5.E543U54 (latest edition in RR - older editions located in the general bookstacks).

Electronic Market Data Book
Provides statistical data on consumer electonic products.
Located in Regenstein Library - HD9696.A1E37 (latest edition held in RR - all others located in the general bookstacks).

Global Entertainment and Media Outlook
Forecasts and economic analyses.
Located in Regenstein Library - HF5439.M267 G66 2000/04 RR. There is also a CD-ROM version located at Circulation - [CDRom]HF5439.M267G66.

Journal Links


Textiles
Industry Overviews

Business Source Complete
Contains industry profiles and market research reports as well as journal articles.

Current Industrial Reports - Consumption on the Cotton System
U.S. Bureau of the Census

Current Industrial Reports - Textiles
U.S. Bureau of the Census

Global Market Information Database
Market research reports and statistics.

Investext Plus
Analyst reports.

OneSource Global Business Browser
Within the Industry section there are reports on the textile industry.

Journal Links
Home Textiles Today
Textile
Textile History
Textile Research Journal
Textile World

Tobacco
Industry Overviews

Business Source Complete
Contains industry profiles and market research reports as well as journal articles.

Global Market Information Database
Market research reports and statistics.

Investext Plus
Analyst reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser
Within the Industry section there are reports on food and tobacco.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Within the Industries section there is a survey of "Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco".

Journal Links
Nicotine and Tobacco Research
World Tobacco

Tourism
Industry Overviews

Business Monitor Online
Market research reports emphasizing emerging markets.

Business Source Premier
Contains industry profiles and market research reports as well as journal articles.

Global Market Information Database
Market research reports and statistics

Investext Plus
Analyst reports

Leisure Tourism: Supporting your research in leisure, tourism and hospitality
A source of information on tourism, leisure, recreation, hospitality, and the economics and sociology of sport. The bibliographic database contains over 98,000 abstracts, and the website also brings you news and analysis from the worlds of tourism, leisure, sport, hospitality and recreation.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

SourceOECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)

United Nations Common Database
Contains statistics by country on "tourism expenditures" and "tourism receipts".

United States Department of Transportation. Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
Includes publications such as "U.S. International Travel and Transportation Trends" and "North American Trade and Travel Trends".

World Travel and Tourism Council
Contains lengthy research reports by country, region and the world.

Yearbook of Tourism Statistics
Published by the World Tourism Organization
f G149.I73 - Latest vol. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Earlier vols. Regenstein, Bookstacks

Compendium of Tourism Statistics
Published by the World Tourism Organization
G155.A1T5898 - Latest ed. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Earlier eds. Regenstein, Bookstacks

Journal Links
ASTA Agency Management
International Journal of Hospitality Management
Travel Trade
Travel Weekly
Trade/Professional Associations
Travel Industry Association of America