.
Business and Economics Subject Guides | International Marketing Research

 

A Guide to International Marketing Research
in Regenstein Library

If You Need Assistance
Ask for help at the Reference and Business Information Center, located on the first floor of the Regenstein Library.
Monday-Friday: 9:00AM-5:00PM
Saturday-Sunday: CLOSED
Holiday and inter-session hours may vary.
Phone: 773-702-4685
E-mail us

Librarians: Jeffry Archer
Paul Belloni
Greg Fleming

Regenstein Library Building Hours


International Marketing and Demographic Statistics

Demographic DataFinder (Population Reference Bureau)

Global Market Information Database
Marketing and economic data from Euromonitor - country data, consumer lifestyles, consumer market sizes, forecasts, companies & brands, major market profiles.

Index to international statistics : IIS.
Congressional Information Service.
Washington, DC, Congressional Information
Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1
Z6464.I6I5

InfoNation
Most recent statistics for Member States of the United Nations. Includes a broad range of data.

InvestText Plus
Provides investment research reports and industry analysis. In order to obtain a report on an industry either use the drop down menu within the Industry Search box or use the Keyword Search box and enter in your industry and the name of a country - such as "beer and Japan".

Mintel Reports
Market research reports. Primarily covers U.S. and European industries. One-time registration required.

OneSource Global Business Browser GSB restricted
First time users click here to register.
Your best bet is to select Industry Profiler or Topic Search. Within Industry Profiler there does not tend to be many foriegn Industry Overviews but there is a lot of international Market Share Data. Also note the option to restrict your seach to "Tables Only" within the Topic Search section. Also note that Topic Search does not default to searching for company/industry research reports but that it is an option.

Panorama of European Business.
Commission of the European Communities
Luxembourg : Office for Official Publication
Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1
HC241.2.P313

SourceOECD
Orginazation for Economic Cooperation and Development. SourceOECD comprises three sections: Studies (books and reports) by Theme, Periodicals and Statistics.

STAT-USA
For overviews of countries and also of markets outside of the United States go into the Globus & NTDB section of STAT-USA.

Statistical Universe
Search "Statistical Sources" for an index to over 100,000 statistical publications.

United Nations Common Database
Similar to World Development Indicators, UNSTATS provides selected series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas. It has the ability to download the data into an Excel spreadsheet.



Country Information

Asian development outlook : ADO.
Asian Development Bank
[Manila] : Asian Development Bank,
Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1
HC411.A17

Asia yearbook.
[Hongkong]
Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1
HC411.A1F22

China Data Online

Country Commercial Guides

CountryWatch.com

Doing Business in....
Price Waterhouse
Latest year in RR, older edtions located in the bookstacks.
Search the Library's catalog. Highlight the Title Alphabetical Browse index and enter doing business in [name of country].

The Europa world year book.
Europa Publications Limited.
London, England : Europa Publications Limited,
Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1
D2.E93

Foreign Governments
Links to national government Web sites.

International Financial Statistics (IMF)
There is also a monthly edition in hard copy:
v. 1- Jan. 1948-to date
Unbound issues held in Regenstein, Periodicals Reading Room, Floor 2, East Side.
Bound volumes in the bookstacks:
HG3881.I63.

International financial statistics yearbook.
International Monetary Fund
Washington, International Monetary Fund.
Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1
HG3881.I632

International Government Organizations
Links to many international government homepages including the IMF, UN and World Bank.

Social indicators of development.
International Bank for Reconstruction and Development.
Washington, D.C. : World Bank,
Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1
HC59.69.S63

Statistical Yearbooks
Search in the Univeristy of Chicago Library catalog. Highlight the Subject Alphabetical Browse index and enter [country name] statistics handbooks.

Trends in developing economies.
International Bank for Reconstruction and Development
Washington, D.C. : World Bank,
Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1
HC59.69.T74

United Nations Common Database

World Development Indicators Online
World development indicators [CD-ROM]
World Bank. International Economics Dept. Development Data
Washington, D.C. : The World Bank,
The latest edition is in the Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1 (workstation A-11)
Mixed Media, JRL Rm.160
CDRomHC59.W62

World development report.
World Bank
[New York] Oxford University Press.
Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1
HC59.7.

World outlook.
Economist Intelligence Unit (Great Britain)
London, The Economist Intelligence
Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1
HC59.A2W9

Year book of labour statistics = Annuaire des statistiques du travail
International Labour Office
Geneva : International Labour Office,
Regenstein Reading Room, floor 1
HD4826.I6



Journal Articles and News Items (indexing and abstracting services)


Click here for an A to Z list of journals available online.

ABI/Inform
Features abstracting, indexing and often the ASCII full-text to more than 1000 academic management, marketing and general business journals.

Business Source Premier
Similar to ABI/Inform; you may want to search both databases.

Factiva

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Makes available the full-text of a wide variety of periodicals, newspapers, newswire services, broadcasts, etc.