Mergers & Acquisitions: Selected Sources
Are you looking for:
- Individual Deals
- SDC Platinum Mergers & Acquisitions See note on access
A database with comprehensive details on all announced deals, whether completed or uncompleted. The database covers U.S. targets 1979 to present and Non U.S. targets 1985 to present. Data are unavailable for the last thirty days as a condition of our academic subscription.
Data available include full financial details, advisors and fees, premiums paid, etc.
- Thomson ONE Banker See note on access
This has the same data as SDC Platinum in a web-based interface. Click on the Deals tab to access the M & A data.
We find SDC Platinum a little easier to use for complex searches. - Industry statistics and analysis
- Mergerstat Review
Regenstein Library first floor reading room, call number HD 2746.5.M48
Mergerstat Review is an annual statistical compendium of M & A activity worldwide. It features detailed industry analysis, including multiples and premiums at an industry level.
The Library has 1985 - . - Thomson ONE Banker See note on access
Thomson Banker has data on the dollar value and number of deals at macro-industry levels. It does not have data on multiples and premiums. - League Tables
- Thomson Banker League Tables
Free web site from Thomson Financial that publishes quarterly overviews of global M & A activity. Includes archives back to 2003 - Bloomberg League Tables
Free web site with most recent quarter only. You can also generate league tables using the Bloomberg terminals in the Hyde Park Center and Gleacher Center computer labs. Type MA <GO> 7 <GO> at the Bloomberg prompt. - SDC Platinum and Thomson ONE Banker
Allow you to search on any number of criteria and create customized league tables based on your search results. Use the advanced search in Thomson Banker and then choose Rankings after running your search. In SDC Platinum, use the League Tables button on the toolbar.
See note on access
- News and Articles
- There are many publications dedicated to coverage of the M & A sector. Many of the the major publications are available in online databases like ABI/INFORM and Business Source Complete.
Some important publications:
- Mergers & Acquisitions
News and other information. Business Source Complete includes rosters of recently completed transactions.
ABI/INFORM 1993 - present
Business Source Complete 1998 - present
- Weekly Corporate Growth Report
News and trends. One issue a month includes an article on valuation in a specific industry.
ABI/INFORM 1987 - present
Business Source Complete 1996 - present
Notes on Access
SDC PlatinumSDC Platinum uses client software to connect to the database. It can only be accessed from workstation A-10 in the first floor reading room of Regenstein Library.
A quick start guide is available here.Thomson ONE Banker Thomson ONE Banker is web-based but can not be accessed from off-campus using NSIT's proxy server. You must install the
VPN Client to use this from off-campus.