If you have any questions: Ask a Librarian
Industry Data | Demographic Data | Journal Articles | Companies | Journals Online | Off-campus Access
| Industry Data online | CD-ROMs | books | |
| Global Market Information Database | **Heavily
used source providing marketing statistics, demographics and industry overviews.
Sections
within include country data, consumer lifestyles, consumer market sizes,
forecasts, companies & brands and major market profiles. Tip: Note the sample searches in some sections. If you do not specify a country you will obtain data on many countries. Use USA for the United States. |
| Industries A-Z | A guide suggesting online sources for specific industries. |
| Investext Plus | Analyst
reports on industries and companies. Some industry reports might supply
you with marketing and demographic information. Tip: Generally data goes back to 1994. Coverage for forecasting data varies. |
| Mintel Reports | Market research reports. Primarily covers U.S. and European industries. One-time registration required. |
| S&P NetAdvantage | Contains market information, company quotes, equity index information, industry information (including the S&P Industry Surveys), and economic data. |
| Statistical Universe | A searchable index of statistical sources. Some of the data is available online. |
| Mediamark
Reporter (CD-ROM) |
Detailed
demographic and marketing data for products and brands. Covers years 1995-2000. Located on the 1st floor of Regenstein Library workstations A-11. |
|
Electronic Market Data Book |
This is
a good source for basic marketing data on electronics (both U.S. and international).
Historical data is available; we have editions going back to 1969. The latest edition is located in the Regenstein reading room, floor 1. All other editions are held in the general bookstacks. The call number is HD9696.A1E37. |
| Industry
Surveys (Part of S&P NetAdvantage) |
Provides
U.S. industry overviews with some statistical data. Historical data
is available; we have volumes going back to 1960. Published by Standard
& Poor's. The latest 5 years are located in the Regenstein reading room, floor 1. All previous issues are located in the general bookstacks. The call number is HG4501.S793. |
| Market Share Reporter | We have
1991, 1996 to present. All volumes are held in the Regenstein reading room, floor 1. The call number is HF5410.M35. |
| Predicasts' Basebook | This annual
publication is no longer being published. If you are looking for historical
statistics on sales or volume for a particular product this is an excellent
source to consult. We have the 1973 - 1995 editions. All editions are held in the general bookstacks. The call number is HA214.P9. |
| U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook | This is
similar to Industry Surveys in that it focuses on providing industry overviews
with statistical data. There is less of a focus on specific companies in
U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook. Historical data is available,
we have volumes going back to 1960. Located in the Regenstein Bookstacks under the call number HC101.U54. Older editions are under the title U.S. Industrial Outlook and are located in the general bookstacks under HC106.5.A486. |
| Demographic Data | |
| Consumer Expenditure Survey | By the Bureau of Labor Statistics. These cross-tabulated tables go back to 1986. |
| Global Market Information Database |
Sections within include country data, consumer lifestyles, consumer market sizes, forecasts, companies & brands and major market profiles. |
| Polling the Nations | Polling the Nations is a compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 80 other countries from 1986 to the present. |
| Statistical Universe | A searchable index of statistical sources. Some of the data is available online. Try a search on "elderly and united states", "elderly and consumer" or "elderly and demographics" in the Abstracts section. |
| U.S.
Census Bureau |
Includes
Annual Survey of Manufactures, Census Tract Street Locator, USA Counties,
Zip Code Business Patterns, etc.. Tip: Note the University of Chicago Library Finding Census Data guide. And Google UncleSam is a great place to start if you are not finding what you are looking for. |
| World Development Indicators Online | Published by the World Bank. A good source for basic demographic
and economic information. Also available on CD-ROM - the most recent edition is located on the 1st Floor of Regenstein Library workstation A-11. Previous edtions located at the circulation desk (first floor) may be checked out. |
| World Population Prospects | From the United Nations. Provides data on countries and regions of the world. Includes variables such as population, population density, urban and rural, age and sex, population change and various vital statistics. The date coverage goes back to 1950 and includes projections. |
| Journal Articles | |
| ABI/Inform | Full-text
of articles is usually available. Tip:Use the "Advanced" search options. Think about what your key words are before searching - samples: hand-held computers and sales older people and demographics publication title (american demographics) and (cars or automobiles) consumer behavior and (trends or forecasts) |
| Business Source Complete | Full-text of articles is usually available. Use the same search strategies that you would for ABI/Inform. |
| Factiva | Search
"Headline & Lead Paragraph" to limit your search . Note the "Examples"
above the "Run Search" button (for instructions on how to perform
advanced searches such as the example below using "atleast4"). Sample Searches: Use the same sample searches that are listed for ABI/Inform. also: atleast2 consumer behavior and cellular |
| EconLit | The most
prominent database covering economics literature. Contains some full-text.
EconLit is not good for finding articles on companies. Tip:Use the "Advanced" search option. Sample Search: descriptor (consumer behavior) and geographic coverage (US) |
| Companies
For more information on finding companies see our Company and Industry Information page. |
|
| Mergent Online | Besides detailed financial data on companies (both U.S. and international) Mergent provides company histories. |
|
Off-campus
access:
|
