Research and Investment Reports | Data and Statistics | Chicago Area Resources | Sources for Finding Articles | Selected Electronic Journals | Trade Associations and Research Centers
Many commercial real estate firms make current reports available for free on their websites. Most do not offer online archives of their reports.
CRENEX.com
Portal site that links to many good sources for reports and statistics.
CB Richard Ellis
Colliers International
Broadest international coverage.
Grubb & Ellis
MarcusMillichap
Free registration required. Covers retail, apartment and commercial markets.
Urban Land Institute
Nonprofit research group. Most of their publications are not free but the Library buys many of them. Find these in the Library Catalog or Lens
Investext
University of Chicago subscription source. Analyst reports that focus more on companies than industries.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Their Homebuilding Industry Survey covers some aspects of real estate
Home Sales
Melissa Data
Lookup average sale price by zip code. Earliest data are from 2001.
New Home Sales
Compiled by the US Census Bureau
Existing Home Sales
Compiled by the National Association of Realtors. Only recent data are free.
Consult the Statistical Abstract of the United States for historical data
S&P/Case-Shiller Home Price Indices
Frequently cited index of US housing prices.
House Price Index
from the Office of Federal Housing Enterprise Oversight
Conventional Mortgage Home Price Index
Compiled by FreddieMac
Mortgage Data
Federal Housing Finance Board
A wealth of statistics on the size of the market and types of mortgages. Includes many different time series.
Weekly Primary Mortgage Market Survey
Weekly mortgage rates from Freddie Mac. Includes historical data going as far back as 1971
Mortgages Outstanding and Originated, 1990 -
Home price index and aggregate mortgage data.Office of Federal Housing Enterprise Oversight
Foreclosures
The primary sources for foreclosure data are not free. The Mortgage Brokers Association and RealtyTrac are two of the most widely used fee-based sources.
HUD Provided Local Level Data
From the US Department of Housing and Urban Development. These are estimated data, so use with care.
Microdata
The Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) of 1975 requires mortgage lenders to provice data on applicants and loans.
Data for 1999 - 2007 are available from the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC)
The Library has the following data on CD-ROM
Greater Chicago Housing and Community Development Website
From the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning. Includes data and statistics but many series have not been updated recently.
BlockShopper Chicago
Commercial site that has information on trends, foreclosures and individual sales for Cook County. Other cities are available as is Lake County, Illinois
Best for finding articles from trade journals, newspapers and magazines, and academic journals.
ABI/INFORM
Banking Information Source
You can also search ABI/INFORM and Banking Information Source simultaneously.
Business Source CompleteEconLit with Full Text
Best for finding empirical studies.
Factiva
Best for trade journals and local and regional business news.
Counselors of Real Estate
Institute of Real Estate Management
Society of Industrial and Office Realtors
New York University Jack Brause Real Estate Library
Provides data mostly for the New York area but there are some links to regional and international data as well. Not all sources are available to non-NYU users.
The Richard S. Ziman Center for Real Estate