The University of Chicago Library
Contemporary Fiction | Literary Awards

And the Winner is...?: Recent Literary Awards

Nobel Prize in Literature

The 2008 Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded to Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio. His recent works include Ballaciner, L'Africain, Wandering Star, and Révolutions.

Costa Book Awards (formerly the Whitbread) | Governor General's Literary Awards | Man Booker Prize | National Book Award | National Book Critics Circle Award | Orange Prize for Fiction | PEN/Faulkner Award | Pulitzer Prize for Fiction | Scotiabank Giller Prize

2008 Costa Book Awards (formerly the Whitbread)

Costa First Novel Award

Sadie Jones's The Outcast was the winner of the 2008 Costa First Novel Award. The shortlist included:

Costa Novel Award

Sebastian Barry's The Secret Scripture was the winner of the 2009 Costa Novel Award as well as the Costa Book of the Year.

2008 Governor General's Literary Award

Nino Ricci's The Origin of Species was the winner of this year's Governor General's Award. Finalists included: