INSPEC
on Web of Knowledge(Physics Abstracts) -- INSPEC covers topics
including physics, electrical engineering, electronics,
communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and
information technology from 1898 to present. International
journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, books,
and periodicals are among the printed materials indexed.
Producer-assigned fields and classification codes include chemical
and numerical information, as well as subject-specific descriptors
and identifiers.
Compendex -- Web version of Engineering Index, the largest
international source of engineering abstracts. Our access to
Compendex spans from 1884 to present. All areas of engineering are
covered, including chemical, environmental, industrial, optical,
electrical, mechanical, civil, automotive, nuclear, materials,
metals, aerospace, hydrology, biotechnology, food sciences, and
many other related fields. Approximately 22% of the database is
conference literature, and 90% of the source documents are in
English.
Current
Contents -- Lists tables of contents for over 6500 journals.
Includes bibliographic data for each article, and includes
abstracts for about 85% of the articles. Search by journal title,
article title, authors, keywords, and corporate source. You may
also set up personal profiles which you execute as desired to
discover when new articles of interest are published in specific
journals in your subject area.
Web
of Knowledge (Science Citation Index) -- Multidisciplinary
coverage, including the ability to search for publications which
cite a known author and/or article. Coverage from 1900 to
present.
SciFinder Scholar --
Focus is chemistry, but includes significant coverage of related
areas of chemical physics, nuclear science, space/astronomical
studies, and other areas of physics. Requires a special software,
which can be downloaded by University of Chicago researchers.
Coverage is from 1907 to present.
FirstSearch
Among the many available FirstSearch databases is:
WorldCat, an online union catalog, representing the holdings of
hundreds of major research, public, and university libraries
throughout the US and worldwide.
PACS Physics and Astronomy Classification Scheme Subject
Identifications