FRANTEXT
Bibliography Search
This search form is for searching the bibliography of texts
in the ARTFL database, and NOT the texts themselves, which are
available only to members of ARTFL
subscribing institutions.
For information about becoming a subscriber, please see the
ARTFL subscription information page.
Browse the Complete Bibliography.
Please direct comments or queries about this service to
mark@barkov.uchicago.edu.
General User Documentation for PhiloLogic
Database-Specific Searching Tips
Bibliographic Searching:
Author:
At this time the apostrophe in the author field is not
working properly. This becomes a problem when searching for last names
such as D'Alembert or D'Aubignac. To search for similar
names, enter the last name without the particle (e.g. Alembert, Aubignac). Likewise, at this time accents are not working in the author field.
To search for Molière, enter the name without accents:
moliere.
In fact, searching using accent representation will produce a "No Documents Found" message.
In addition, since authors' full names are not always complete, try searching
with just the authors' last name (e.g. search for Racine rather than
Racine J or Racine Jean).
Title:
At this time the following punctuation
marks and symbols produce a "No documents found" message: accent marks, parentheses (( )), semi-colons (;), colons (:), apostrophes ('), single
and double quotes, and brackets ([ ]).
Avoid using any of these symbols in the title field (e.g. in order to search L'Étranger, type in only etranger).
To search for
a title with any of these symbols embedded within the title itself,
try searching for key words (e.g. outre tombe instead of Mémoires
d'outre tombe).
The following punctuation marks have no adverse effect on a title search and, if
appearing within a string, must be entered: hyphen (-), question mark (?), and comma (,). In all
cases, spacing must match exactly that in the bibliography.
Date:
Note that the bibliography entries include two dates.
The first is the date the text originally appeared. The second is part of the publication information for the edition used in the database.
"Date" for purposes of searching here means the former.
The texts in the database range in date from 1225 to 1964.
Genre: To limit one's search to a particular genre,
simply enter the genre into the Genre Field. One may search
more than one genre at a time; the vertical bar ( | ) serves as
the OR operator (e.g., entering
correspondance|memoires searches both).
Count Genre
90 correspondance
21 eloquence
78 melanges litteraires
122 memoires
12 pamphlet
228 poesie
29 recit de voyage
532 roman
405 theatre
332 traite ou essai