ARTFL - FRANTEXT
| Database Home | Bibliography | PhiloLogic User Manual | The ARTFL Project | Comments |
| ARTFL Search Tips |
|
Character Representation for Search Terms The term(s) to be searched in selected documents are entered into the Search in Texts For: box on the search-form. Word searches in PhiloLogic are by default case insensitive, so that a search finds both lower and upper case representations of words. The user must, however, take into account diacritics when searching databases that have accented characters. PhiloLogic's wildcard characters may also be employed to match many forms. The simplest search in PhiloLogic is a single term search without wildcards. If searching for a term such as "tradition" in a database, simply type the word tradition into the Search in Text(s) For: box and press the SEARCH button. Wildcard Characters and Boolean Operators: Wildcard characters allow the user to enter a single search entry that may find many forms. This is in contrast to a simple word search which requires an exact match in order to find a word. The following describes the most commonly used wildcard characters in full-text searching and in bibliographic searching.
Wildcard Characters Note: If you are using wildcard characters and would like to see a full list of the words matching your search-term, then run your search as a "Frequency by Title" search. The results page of a "Frequency by Title" search lists all the terms found in a database that match your search-term. Boolean Operators These expressions can be combined for more sophisticated searches; for example, searching jolie|belle femme|fille finds any of the two adjectives together with the nouns femm or fille. Accents and Special Characters: PhiloLogic requires that one take into account diacritics when searching documents with accented characters in both bibliographic and full-text searching. The system provides three ways to search for accented characters: 1) simply type the required accented character from the keyboard; 2) use a capital letter to match all accented and non-accented forms of a letter; or 3) enter the two character representations listed below. Tip: If you do not want to have to think about accents, turn on "Caps Lock" and type in all uppercase.
Special Characters and Symbols
|
| Subscription Information | Current Subscribers | PhiloLogic | ATILF | TLFi | EFTS |