Supplemental Help in English
Trevi, the Bibliopolis Interface

Bibliopolis The ARTFL Project EFTS Bibliopolis Databases

The Bibliopolis database pages have their own buttons for internal navigation. These buttons allow the user to see title lists, author lists, return to the database home, go to the search page, etc. It is best to use these buttons to navigate around the database instead of the browser window buttons, for ease of navigation. For example, if one wants to return to the search page from a results page, clicking on Recherche will open the search page directly, while the arrow button will not.

The first page the user is taken to after the home page is not the search page. It is an alphabetical list of the authors represented in the database. Clicking on a highlighted name only takes the user to a list of that author's works in the database. In order to search, the user must click on the Recherche button at the top.

On the results page, the user can navigate from result to result and page by page by using the red arrows in the text and at the four corners of the page. The user can skip from chapter to chapter by clicking on the highlighted chapter headings in the frame on the left of the screen. A red arrow will show up next to the chapter heading to indicate what chapter the current result page is from.

Searching

Searching can be done either by author, title, or title of individual work (titre détaillé) in those books that are collections of different essays or discrete works. Such collections are designated on the general list of titles by a black circular icon with a white cross through it. Clicking on the icon will show a list of the works collected.

Be aware that one must go through a few screens to view search results. For example, if searching for a word in more than one author, the first page to appear lists the number of occurrences of the word per author, listed alphabetically by author. After clicking on a particular author, the same page comes up, but with the author's works in which the word appears, along with the number of occurrenc es in the individual works. Clicking on the title of the work will finally take the user to the word highlighted in context. On the left side of the screen, the number of occurrences per chapter is listed. The pages on which the occurrences are found are not given.