La Bibliothèque des lettres
Published by Bibliopolis, Paris, 1998
Database Home Bibliography Sample Searches Searching Tips User Manual

Bibliographic Searching in order to limit a search by fields or to retrieve selected documents. Note: Turn on Caps Lock to search regardless of accentuation and realize that all apostrophes must be followed by a space (e.g., l' amour).
Author: (e.g., Racine)
Title: (e.g., Esther)
Date: (e.g., 1835-1860 or 1689)
Collection: (e.g., cphil; See codes below)
Note: The vertical line ( | ) is the OR operator (e.g., ironie|sarcasme or grande|noble famille). For pattern matching one may employ wildcard characters (e.g., orphelin.* retrieves orphelin, orpheline, orphelines, etc.). Accented characters may be represented by two characters (e.g.,e\=è) or uppercase letters.
Search
Texts for
:
(e.g., malEdiction)

  

Select a Search Option:
A. (Default) Single Term and Phrase Search
B. Proximity Searching: in the same Sentence or Paragraph
    Separated by words in the same sentence.

Select a Results Format:
(Default) Concordance Report (300 characters plus)
KWIC Report (a single line of text)
Frequency by Title
Frequency by Author

Editions Bibliopolis The ARTFL Project EFTS Conditions of Use Comments

General User Documentation for PhiloLogic

Database-Specific Searching Tips

Bibliographic Searching:
Author and Title: Many titles and their authors' names contain
accented characters and must be entered as such; however, in order to enter words without having to pay attention to accents simply turn on Caps Lock and type in uppercase. In bibliographic searches, punctuation and spacing must match exactly that in the bibliography. Please note that a space must be entered after an apostrophe (e.g., d' amour, not d'amour).
Date: Texts in this database of collections range in date from 1170 to 1966. There are several undated documents usually noted by the abbreviation [s.d.]. Most dates represent the year a work was written; in some cases the date is the year of a published edition.
Collection: The codes for the BdL collections are as follows:

Data-Entry Idiosyncrasies:
Several data errors have been detected in some databases either from typesetting errors in the original source or from rekeying the documents. One should avoid making arguments from silence. In particular, look out for the transposition of letters or the doubling of letters.

Punctuation and Full-Text Searching:
Hyphens: Hyphens act as word separators. Thus, treat hyphenated expressions as separate words excluding the hyphen (e.g., if searching for soixante-cinq, type in soixante cinq.)
Apostrophes: One must include apostrophes when searching words with apostrophes and one must insert a space after apostrophes since in this database apostrophes act as word separators (e.g., only by typing d' Histoire or Nicholson' s will one find d'Histoire or Nicholson's).
Ampersands: The ampersand (&) is not a searchable character. Avoid Phrase Searches where an ampersand may be used as a conjunction.

Formatting and Display:
Notes: There are notes throughout the database. In PhiloLogic notes never interfere when searching the text to which they refer. Note references are linked to notes and text from notes are linked to page references.
Images: There are some images in this database.