Le Corpus de la littérature narrative du Moyen Age au XXe siècle: Romans, Contes, Nouvelles.
B.A.S.I.L.E. (Base internationale de Littérature Électronique)
Coproduced by Éditions Champion Électronique and the CNED
Homepage Find Texts Tables of Contents Full-Text Searching Tips PhiloLogic User Manual

Search in Texts

You may limit your search by the following fields. Turn on Caps Lock to search regardless of accentuation and realize that all apostrophes must be followed by a space (e.g., l' EcartE). Uppercase AND, OR, and NOT serve as Boolean operator in these fields.

Genre: (e.g., LittErature d' idEes)
Author: (e.g., Dumas, Alexandre)
Title of Work: (e.g., Comte de Monte-Cristo)
Title of Collection: (e.g., Voyages extraordinaires)
Editor: (e.g., Blum, Claude)
Publisher: (e.g., Calmann)
Century of Composition: (e.g. 16 or 16-17)
Date of Compostion: (e.g., 1845 or 1830-1845)
Other Dates: (e.g., 1999)

Note: In full-text searching, the vertical line ( | ) serves as an OR operator (e.g., fripon|coquin or grande|noble famille). For pattern matching one may employ wildcard characters (e.g., orphelin* retrieves orphelin, orpheline, orphelines, etc.). Accented characters may be represented by two characters (e.g.,e\=è) or uppercase letters.

Search Texts: (e.g., prophEtie)

  

Select a Search Option:
A. (Default) Single Term and Phrase Search
B. Proximity Searching: in the same Sentence or Paragraph
     Number of words following: words in the same sentence.

Select a Results Format:
(Default) Concordance Report (300 characters plus)
KWIC Report (a single line of text)
Frequency by Title
Frequency by Author
Collocation Table (experimental) Spanning words. Turn Filter Off:

Champion Électronique The ARTFL Project EFTS Conditions of Use Comments


General User Documentation for PhiloLogic

Full-Text Searching Tips

Bibliographic Searching:
Genre: Click on the Terms button to see a list of genre available. Searching for some genres may require use of the NOT operator. To find "Narratif, Roman" without "Narratif, Roman, par lettres" enter Roman NOT lettres. To find only Narratif, Roman, par lettres, you may enter roman AND lettres.
Author, Editor, and Title: Many titles and their authors' names contain
accented characters and must be entered as such; however, in order to enter words without having to pay attention to accents simply turn on Caps Lock and type in uppercase. In bibliographic searches, punctuation and spacing must match exactly that in the bibliography. Please note that a space must be entered after an apostrophe (e.g., Aventures d' AristonoUs).
Dates: There are three ways to search for dates.

Orthographic Considerations:
There is no standard orthography in this database spanning over eight centuries. Medieval abbreviations can be found as well. Wildcard characters or Boolean operators can help detect such anomalies.

Punctuation and Full-Text Searching:
Hyphens: Hyphens act as word separators. Thus, treat hyphenated expressions as separate words excluding the hyphen (e.g., if searching for soixante-cinq, type in soixante cinq).
Apostrophes: One must include apostrophes when searching words with apostrophes and one must insert a space after apostrophes since in this database apostrophes act as word separators (e.g., only by typing d' Oscar will one find d'Oscar).
Ampersands: The ampersand (&) is not a searchable character. Avoid Phrase Searches where an ampersand may be used as a conjunction.

Formatting and Display:
Greek Characters: Greek characters currently are not searchable and do not display. In the next iteration Greek will be encoded for the Web.
Notes: There are notes throughout Le Corpus de la littérature narrative. In PhiloLogic notes never interfere when searching the text to which they refer. Note references are linked to notes and text from notes are linked to page references. References are available once the user pulls up a page of text, but not from the first-level results screen. There are two kinds of notes: Authorial notes and Critical notes
Images: There are several images throughout the database. Most are displayed as inline images once the user pulls up a page of text, but not from a first-level results screen.


Produced in collaboration with the ARTFL Project at the University of Chicago.
Send mail to ets@lib.uchicago.edu with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 2001 Les Éditions Champion Électronique et le CNED.
PhiloLogic Software, Copyright © 2001 The University of Chicago.