From DNA to the Expanding Universe: The University of Chicago and the Nobel Prizes in the Sciences

Nobel Prize
The Nobel Prize knows no boundaries of geography or nationality and individuals from around the World have received this prestigious award. But a few institutions have produced an especially large number of Nobel Prize winners. The University of Chicago is an excellent example. Seventy-eight Nobel laureates have been faculty members, students or researchers at some time during their careers. In the sciences, 26 were awarded in Physics, 15 in Chemistry, and 11 in Physiology or Medicine. The University of Chicago's legacy of Nobel Prizes began in 1907, when Albert Michelson received the prize for measuring the speed of light.

This exhibit, originally developed for the Nobel Prize Centennial Exhibition of the Nobel Foundation in Sweden, and displayed in the Museum of Science and Industry in the fall of 2003, has been adapted for display in the John Crerar Library, with a focus on Nobel Prize winning scientists such as Enrico Fermi, Subramanyan Chandrasekhar and James Watson.