Skip to content
The University of Chicago Library

Industries A-Z

 

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z - index

 

 


Securities
see also Finance
Directories

Nelson Information's Directory of Investment Managers
Profiles investment managers and investment specialties.
HG4907.N44 - Latest vol. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Earlier vols. Regenstein, Stacks.
[CDRom`]HG4907.N44 - Regenstein, Multimedia: Ask at Circulation, Floor 1

Nelson Information's Directory of Investment Research
Profiles research firms and U.S. and international companies that are covered by at least one analyst.
HG4907.N43 - Latest ed. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Earlier eds. Regenstein, Stacks.

Securities Industry Yearbook
Includes information on individual securities firms, such as key personnel and department heads, number of customer accounts, registered representatives, offices, and capital. Also provides rankings by capital, offices, employees and RRs. Additional sections present industry facts and market statistics.
HG4907.S398 - Latest vol. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Earlier vols. Regenstein, Stacks.

Statistical Data

Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP)
Maintains a database of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolios, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases. CRSP also provides CRSP/COMPUSTAT Merged Database, a database that simplifies matching COMPUSTAT financial data to the CRSP security price data.
restricted accessed via WRDS.

DataStream
DSWindows provides a database of global financial and economic information with comprehensive, historical coverage on over 140,000 securities and instruments from markets worldwide. The database provides up to 40 years of history, including coverage of equities, indices, economics, commodities, forex, interest rates, fixed income instruments, and derivatives. Allows you to evaluate investment opportunities and corporate performance, compare international markets, analyze fund holdings and manage portfolios.
Terminals are located in Regenstein Library (first floor reading room, workstation A-9) and in the Harper Center and Gleacher student labs. For help getting started see our Datastream Advance Guide.

Factiva
Note the "Companies/Markets" tab near the top of the page and then the "Quotes" link. Provides daily prices for the last 2 years and weekly and monthly prices as far back as 5 years.

First Call Historical Database
Historical content only! FCHD contains earnings information dating as far back as 1990, on over 9,700 securities.
restricted accessed via WRDS.

Fixed Income Securities Database (FISD)
FISD covers over 100,000 corporate, U.S. Agency, U.S. Treasury and supranational debt securities and includes more than 400 fields or data items. FISD provides details on debt issues and the issuers, as well as transactions by insurance companies. It is used to research market trends, deal structures, issuer capital structures and other areas of fixed income debt research.
restricted accessed via WRDS.

FRED
Federal Reserve Economic Data.

Ibbotson EnCorr
Thousands of domestic and international indices, macroeconomic data series and performance data series are contained in one selection platform. Ibbotson Associates is the premier supplier of a broad set of historical returns on asset classes dating back to 1926.
restricted access via two research PCs in the Harper Center Student Lab.
See also Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation ... Yearbook.

Mergent Online
Within the "Capital Stock" tab you can obtain historical information on stock splits, dividends, and annual high and low price ranges.

Morningstar Mutual Funds
Loose-leaf service.
Latest edition HG4530.M8 - Regenstein Reading Room Floor 1. Older editions HG4530.M8 - Regenstein Stacks.

NYSE TAQ
The Trade and Quote (TAQ) database contains intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues.
restricted accessed via WRDS.

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various industries within the "Securities, Commodities, and Other Financial Investments" section of this report.

SourceOECD
Data provided is at the macro level. Securities information on specific companies is not here. We recommend that you select the "STATISTICS" tab and then "OECD Databases". From the menu that appears "Statistical Compendium" and "Institutional Investors" are helpful.

Standard and Poors
This is a free database open to all. You may access total return data and components changes of S&P indices among other things.

Standard and Poor's Corporation. Bond Guide
Data covered includes corporate and government bond yield index ratings, corporate and foreign bond ratings, price range and yields. HG4905.S782 - Latest montly issues held in the Regenstein Periodicals Reading Room Floor 2 East Side. Older editions going back as far as 1943 are held in the Regenstein Reading Room Floor 1.

Standard and Poor's Corporation. Security Owner's Stock Guide
Data covered includes common and convertible preferred stock price range, dividend, capitalization and earnings. Mutual fund summaries are also available.
HG4905.S784 - Latest montly issues held in the Regenstein Periodicals Reading Room Floor 2 East Side. Older editions going back as far as 1943 are held in the Regenstein Reading Room Floor 1.

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
A source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard and Poor’s research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports among others.

Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation ... Yearbook
From Ibbotson Associates. Provides data on inflation and returns on various investments such as large and small company stocks, corporate and government bonds and U.S treasury bills.
HG4915.S7 - Latest vol. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Earlier vols. Regenstein, Stacks.
See also Ibbotson EnCorr

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Value Line 3.0 investment analyzer (Plus ed.)
CD-ROM - Latest edition located in Regenstein Library Reading Room first floor, terminal A-11. Older editions may be checked out from the Regenstein Circulation counter, call number CDRom HG4501.V263.

The Value Line investment survey
Looseleaf for updating. Issues for <1980>- in three regular parts: Pt. 1, Summary & index; Pt. 2, Selection & opinion; Pt. 3, Ratings & reports. Has also occasional supplement called Part 4.
HG4501.V26 - Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Older editions on microform: years 1969-1979 on microfilm microfmHG4501.V26 - Regenstein Microforms Floor 3, years 1980 - most recent on microfiche microfcHG4501.V26 Regenstein Microforms Floor 3

Yahoo! Finance
This is a free database open to all. It does not include delisted companies.

Zack's University Analysis

Journals and Newspapers
Barron's
Financial Analysts Journal
Financial Times
Institutional Investor
Investment Dealers' Digest
Investor's Business Daily for older issues see our Electronic Journals list
SEC News Digest
Securities Industry News
Securities Week
Wall Street Journal
Wall Street Transcript

Semiconductors
Industry Overviews

Business Source Complete
Contains industry profiles and market research reports as well as journal articles.

Current Industrial Report: Semiconductors and Electric Components
Produced by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. These surveys measure manufacturing activity to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.

Global Market Information Database
Please note that when searching within GMID the database lists "semi-conductors" with a hyphen.

INSPEC (ISI Web of Knowledge)
Covers international journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books concerned with the technological aspects of the semiconductor industry.

Investext Plus
Access to analyst reports.

OneSource Global Business Browser
Within the Industry section there are reports on semiconductors.

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
Note the "Industries" tab. It will lead you to "Industry Survyes" on "Semiconductor Equipment" and "Semiconductors".

Journal Links
Computer (archive is here)
Semiconductor International
Solid State Technology
Trade/Professional Associations
Semiconductor Industry Association
Provides some statistical and research data for free.


Sports and Sporting Goods

Industry Overviews

Global Market Information Database
Contains market research reports and statistics.

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

NCAA Financial Reports Database
The data is presented here by individual school --- with the ability for users to sort by category and conference, and to compare two schools.

OneSource Global Business Browser

Rodney Fort's Sports Economics Sports Business Data

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various industries within the "Arts, Entertainment and Recreation Services" section of this report.

SPORTdiscus
Covers both serial and monographic literature in the following areas of sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.

The Market Structure of Sports
By Gerald W. Scully. University of Chicago Press 1995.
Located in the Regenstein Bookstacks and Harper Library - GV716.S380 1995

Journal Links

ESPN Sports Business
Marquette Sports Law Review
Seton Hall Journal of Sport Law
Sporting Goods Business: The National News magazine of the Sporting Goods Trade
Sports Business Daily
Sports Business Journal
Sports Business News.com
Sports Marketing

Associations

American Sports Data

Supermarkets
see also Food
Industry Overviews

Annual Benchmark Report for Retail Trade and Food Services
U.S. Census Bureau "Current Business Reports".
Reports include data from the Monthly Retail Trade Survey and data for the most recent 10 years; detailed annual estimates and ratios for the U.S. by kind-of-business. Subnational data detail was eliminated after 1996.

Business Source Complete
Contains industry profiles and market research reports as well as journal articles.

The Food Marketing Industry Speaks
HD9321.A482 - Latest vol. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Earlier vols. Regenstein, Stacks.

Global Market Information Database
Contains market research reports and statistics.

Grocery Manufacturers of America
Detailed industry information is available for free, in PDF format, within the "Publications" section.

Investext Plus
Access to analyst reports.

Mintel Reports
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser
Within the Industry section there are market research reports on the retail grocery industry.

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
Note the "Industries" tab. It will lead you to "Industry Survyes" on "Foods and Nonalcaholic Beverages".

Journal Links
Progressive Grocer
Trade/Professional Associations
Food Marketing Institute

 

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Booth Faculty and Ph.D. students may sign-up for an account through the Account Registration link on the WRDS web page. Use your Booth email address during sign-up, or we will not be able to pass your account information on to you. MBA students will receive access only through a generic account updated each quarter. The logon account will be sent to registered student a week before the start of the quarter. Students must contact the helpdesk to obtain the password ((773) 702-7414, helpdesk@gsb.uchicago.edu).