.
Business and Economics Subject Guides | Biographies of Economists


Biographies of Economists

Questions to consider:
  1. Is the person dead or alive? Think: obituaries.
  2. What years did they live? Life-time could indicate the age of material you should look for.
  3. What did they do? What do they do now? Inventions, discoveries, prizes, honors all count for something, especially news coverage.
  4. Where did they work? University archives will often have the papers and personal files of their faculty.
  5. Could they be associated with any particular time period (like "the 60s") or movement (like "civil rights") or person/group (think Greenspan and Federal Reserve)? Prominent people may be featured in a book about something larger than themselves.

Reference Materials Held in RR1:
Rutherford, Donald The Biographical Dictionary of British Economists Thoemnes: Bristol, 2004.
Call number: HB76.B52 2004

Arestis, Philip and Malcolm Sawyer, ed. A Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists. Edward Elgar Publishing: UK, 1992.
Call number: HB76.B50 1992.

Blaug, Mark. Great Economists before Keynes: an introduction to the lives and works of 100 great economists of the past. Humanities Press International: Atlantic Highlands, NJ, 1986.
Call number: HB76.B540 1986

Blaug, Mark. Great Economists since Keynes: an introduction to the lives and works of one hundred modern economists, 2nd ed. Edward Elgar Paublishing: UK, 1998.
Call number: HB76.B55 1998

Breit, William and Roger W. Spencer, ed. Lives of the Laureates: Eighteen Nobel Economists. MIT Press: Cambridge, MA, 2004.
Call number: HB76.L580 2004

Katz, Bernard S., ed. Nobel Laureates in Economic Sciences: a biographical dictionary. Garland Publishing: New York, 1989.
Call number: HB76. N630 1989

Mai, Ludwig H. Men and Ideas in Economics; A Dictionary of World Economists Past and Present. Rowman and Litttlefield: Totowa, NJ, 1975.
Call number:HB76. M22 C.2

Blaug, Mark, ed. Who's Who in Economics, 4th ed. Edward Elgar: Northampton, MA, 2003.
Call number: HB76.W47 2003

Other Reference Material in RR1:
Current Biography: CT100.C94
Who's Who in America (brief info): E176.W62
Who's Who in the World (brief): CT120.W62
Concise Dictionary of American Biography:E176.D571 1997
St. James Guide to Biography: Z5301.S34 1991
American National Biography: E176.D58 1999

Databases:

American National Biography Covers deceased people only. Excellent cross-references.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes biographies in a wide range of sources. Does not contain full text. Find sources cited in the Library Catalog

Biography Index
(1984-) Includes individual and collective biographies from all fields and nationalities. You can search by industry ( i.e. "economist"). Some full-text.

Dictionary of National Biography
Covers deceased people of Britain.

Articles often provide information. We suggest looking in Factiva and ABI/Inform.

Books at Regenstein
Fame often accounts for alot in terms of biography. In the library catalog, try a subject alphabetical browse on the name of the person or enter the phrase "economists -- biography". You will notice similar call numbers, so be sure to browse the shelves.

Bibliographies of Economists at the University of Chicago
This listing gives bibliographic citations for current faculty members, as well as links to their University homepages.
Department of Economics
Graduate School of Business

Web Sources
Official site for the Nobel Foundation. Biographical info about all winners in the economic sciences.

Professional Organizations
American Economic Association
Econometric Society
Foundation for Economic Education
Hudson Institute
National Association of Business Economists
National Council of Economic Education





In-person help:

Stop by, call, or e-mail.
Reference and Business Information Center
First Floor, Regenstein Library
Phone: (773)702-4685