The University of Chicago Library
Business and Economics Subject Guides | Industries A-Z

 

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z- index

 


Market Research and Marketing

Marketing Statistics
For core resources that provide marketing and demographic data see:
Marketing and Demographics
Industry Overviews

Market Research Reports
Available at the University of Chicago Library

Conference Board: Business Knowledge Research
There are numerous reports under the Topic of "Marketing and Sales".

Factiva
Contains many market research and marketing consulting trade journals.

GreenBook. Worldwide directory of marketing research companies and services
HF5415.2.G69 - Latest vol. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Earlier vols. Regenstein, Stacks

GreenBook. Worldwide directory of focus group companies and services
H61.28.F63 - Regenstein Stacks

Dictionary of marketing and advertising
HF5415.R5770 1995 - Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1

Editor & publisher market guide
Provides county and MSA area data for newspaper markets in the United States and Canada.
fHD9722.E25 - Last v. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1 next to the Reference Desk. Earlier vols. Regenstein, Stacks

Encyclopedia of busine$$ and finance
HF1001.E53 2001 - Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1

The marketing casebook : cases and concepts
HF5415 .D486 2001 - Regenstein Stacks

The world competitiveness yearbook
HF1414.W67 - Latest vol. Regenstein, Reading Room, Floor 1. Earlier vols. Regenstein, Stacks

Journal Links
American Banker
American Demographics
Brandweek
Entertainment Marketing Letter
Journal of Consumer Research
Journal of International Marketing
Journal of Marketing
Journal of Marketing Research
Journal of Public Policy and Marketing
The Licensing Letter
Marketing Management
Marketing News
Marketing Research
Potentials: Ideas and Products that Motivate
Promo: Promotion Marketing Worldwide
Psychology and Marketing
Sales & Marketing Management
Youth Markets Alert
Associations
American Marketing Association


Mobile Telephones

Industry Overviews

Current Industrial Reports
Annual statistical data on "Communication and Other Electronic Equipment" from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Factiva
Contain many computer and electronic industry trade journals.

Global Market Information Database

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports. "Telecommunications" is listed within the drop box under "Industry Search". You may also try entering a "Keyword Search" such as mobile phones.

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

OneSource Global Business Browser (GSB restricted).

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.
Has sections on "Communications Equipment" and "Telecommunications: Wireless ".

Communications Outlook
Biennial OECD publication. Available on SourceOECD and also located in Regenstein Library - HE760.C66 (latest edition in RR - all other editions located in the general bookstacks.

Digital America: The U.S. Consumer Electronics Industry
Located in Regenstein Library - HD9971.5.E543U54 (latest edition in RR - older editions located in the general bookstacks).

Electronic Market Data Book
Provides statistical data on consumer electonic products. Located in Regenstein Library - HD9696.A1E37 (latest edition held in RR - all others located in the general bookstacks).

Mobile Phones: Pricing Structures and Trends
an OECD publication pubished in 2000
Located in Regenstein Stacks HE9715.O43M63 2000

Journal links

Associations


Motion Pictures

Industry Overviews

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Includes the Academy Awards Database, the IMPC Credits Database, the Margaret Herrick Library, a list of publications and posters, and much more.

The Big Picture : the new logic of money and power in Hollywood
By Edward Jay Epstein. New York : Random House, c2005.
PN1993.5.U65 E67 2005 - Regenstein Stacks

A Concise Handbook of Movie Industry Economics
Edited by Charles C. Moul. New York : Cambridge University Press, 2005.
PN1993.5.U6 C66 2005 - Regenstein Stacks

An Economic History of Film
By John Sedgwick & Michael Pokorny. London ; New York : Routledge, 2004.
PN1993.5.U6S46 2004 - Regenstein Stacks

Entertainment Industry Economics : a guide for financial analysis
By Harold L. Vogel. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2004.
PN1590.F55 V6 2004 - Regenstein Stacks

Factiva
Contains many leisure and arts industry trade journals.

The Film Daily Year Book of Motion Pictures
A trade history and industry guide book. Includes listings of movie theaters, etc. as well as movie studio information. Goes back to 1918, our holdings end in 1970.
PN1993.3.F48 - Regenstein Stacks, also on microfilm microfmPN1993.3.F48 - Regenstein, Microforms, Floor 3

Film Finance & Distribution: a dictionary of terms
Located in Regenstein Library - PN1993.5.U6C6350 1992 Gen

Film Literature Index
Also in paper: Z5784.M9F48, located in 3rd floor Reading Room, Regenstein Library. A companion volume, Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971 (call # Z5784.M9B34 RR3) covers the earlier literature.

Global Entertainment and Media Outlook
Forecasts and economic analyses.
Located in Regenstein Library - HF5439.M267 G66 2000/04 RR. There is also a CD-ROM version located at Regenstein Circulation - [CDRom]HF5439.M267G66

Global Market Information Database
Contains market reports on "Film Production" in France, Germany, the U.K., and the U.S.A. Also provides statistics on films in almost every country of the world.

Hollywood's Road to Riches
By David Waterman. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2005.
PN1993.5.U6 W39 2005 - Regenstein Stacks

Independent Film & Television Alliance
Trade association for the independent film and television industry.

International Index to Film Periodicals

International Index to the Performing Arts
Indexes more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals. Note the Subject Category "Film -Business/Finance/Sales".

International Motion Picture Almanac
Located in Regenstein Library - Reading Rm, floor 1 PN1993.3.I62 (older editions located in the general bookstacks).

The International Movie Industry
Edited by Gorham Kindem. Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press, c2000.
PN1993.5.A1 I54 2000 - Regenstein Stacks

Investext Plus
Provides access to analysts reports. Enter a "Keyword Search" on "film" or something more specific.In order to avoid photographic film you may also want to use the "Industry Search" box. There you will find such categories as "Broadcasting/Cable TV" and "Leisure/Recreation".

Mintel Reports
Market research reports.
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

Motion Picture Association
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) and its international counterpart the Motion Picture Association (MPA) may be accessed here. They will quickly email you detailed market reports such as the "U.S. Entertainment Industry....Market Statistics" for free. The site also provides detailed information on legislation, copyright information, piracy, etc.

MRQE: movie review query engine

National Association of Theatre Owners - Statistics
Provides statistics on U.S. box office, admissions, ticket prices, movie screens, etc.

OneSource Global Business Browser (GSB restricted).

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various industries within the "Art, Entertainment, and Recreation Services" section of this report.

Standard and Poor's Net Advantage
S&P Net Advantage contains S&P Industry Surveys.

Journal links

Cinema & Media Studies Periodicals Online
Daily Variety

Film Quarterly
Hollywood Reporter
Variety


Music
Industry Overviews

Chicago Jazz Archive - Jazz Research

Investext Plus
Includes analyst reports on the music industry.

Mintel Reports
Attention first time users: Access is restrcted to current students, faculty and staff. You must register with Mintel before you receive full access to the database. Registration allows you to save searches for later use but will not allow you to access Mintel from off-campus without using the proxy server. Please use a University of Chicago email address when registering.

Music Index Online

Music Publishers' Sales Agency List

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians

Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) - research and data
The Recording Industry Association of America is a source for market data on music trends in America. The association compiles, analyzes and reports on the quantity and value of recorded music (all formats) shipped into all market channels. The RIAA also identifies trends in music purchasing, while also constructing consumer demographic profiles based on feedback from music fans across America.

RILM Music Abstracts

Service Annual Survey
From the U.S. Census Bureau. There are statistics on various industries within the "Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation Services" section of this report.

The Billboard book of top 40 hits
Rev. and enl. 8th ed.
New York : Billboard Books, c2004
ML156.4.P6 W44 2004 - Regenstein Stacks

The Billboard illustrated encyclopedia of music
New York, NY : Billboard Books, 2003
ML100 .B55 2003 - Regenstein Stacks

Billboard top 1000 singles, 1955-1990
ML156.4.P6W4450 1991 - Regenstein Stacks

The business of music
Liverpool : Liverpool University Press, 2002
ML3790 .B87 2002 - Regenstein Stacks

This business of music : the definitive guide to the music industry
New York : Billboard Books/Watson-Guptill Publications, c2000
ML3790.S5 2000 - Regenstein Stacks
ML3790.S5 2000 - CDRom - Regenstein, Multimedia: Ask at Circulation, Floor 1

The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music
2nd edition. 6 vols. 1995.
ML102.P66G84 1995 RR3

International Who's Who in Music and Musicians' Directory
Vol. 1: ML106.G7W62 RR3; Vol. 2: ML105.I58 RR3

Joel Whitburn presents Billboard top 1000 x 5 : five 1000 top rankings of America's favorite hits
"Compiled from Billboard's pop, adult contemporary, R&B, and country singles charts."
ML156.4.P6W4470 1993 - Regenstein Stacks

Popular songs of the twentieth century : a charted history
ML128.S3G3 2000 - Regenstein Stacks

Variety music cavalcade 1620-1961
ML128.V7M44 - Regenstein Stacks

Journal Links
Billboard
Down beat : jazz, blues and beyond