Dissertation Deadlines

2019-2020 Deadlines

Please note: All deadlines are for 4:30 p.m. when the Dissertation Office closes.

Quarter First Week Ends* Draft Review Deadline** Final Submission Deadline*** Quarter Ends
Summer 2019 Friday, June 28 Wednesday, July 17 Friday, August 2 Saturday, August 31
Autumn 2019 Friday, October 4 Wednesday, October 30 Friday, November 15 Saturday, December 14
Winter 2020 Friday, January 10 Wednesday, February 5 Friday, February 21 Saturday, March 21
Spring 2020 Friday, April 3 Wednesday, April 29 Friday, May 15 Saturday, June 13

*Doctoral candidates who submit their approved dissertation by 4:30 p.m. on Friday of the first week of a quarter and apply to graduate in that quarter will not be registered as students in that quarter. They will not be required to pay tuition or fees associated with registration (and will therefore not have access to the privileges associated with student status). Please note that some divisions may have earlier deadlines and/or other requirements. Students may request to be exempt from the quarterly registration requirement for that quarter by contacting their area Deans of Students in advance.

**Draft reviews are optional. The draft review service is available during the first few weeks of each quarter.

***Some departments have earlier deadlines. The dissertation defense and any changes recommended by the dissertation committee must occur prior to the final submission. Early submissions are welcome as soon as students have finished proofreading and editing the dissertation.

2020-2021 Deadlines

Please note: All deadlines are for 4:30 p.m. when the Dissertation Office closes.

Quarter First Week Ends* Draft Review Deadline** Final Submission Deadline*** Quarter Ends
Summer 2020 Friday, June 26 Wednesday, July 15 Friday, July 31 Saturday, August 29
Autumn 2020 Friday, October 2 Wednesday, October 28 Friday, November 13 Saturday, December 12
Winter 2021 Friday, January 8 Wednesday, February 3 Friday, February 19 Saturday, March 20
Spring 2021 Friday, April 2 Wednesday, April 28 Friday, May 14 Saturday, June 12

*Doctoral candidates who submit their approved dissertation by 4:30 p.m. on Friday of the first week of a quarter and apply to graduate in that quarter will not be registered as students in that quarter. They will not be required to pay tuition or fees associated with registration (and will therefore not have access to the privileges associated with student status). Please note that some divisions may have earlier deadlines and/or other requirements. Students may request to be exempt from the quarterly registration requirement for that quarter by contacting their area Deans of Students in advance.

**Draft reviews are optional. The draft review service is available during the first few weeks of each quarter.

***Some departments have earlier deadlines. The dissertation defense and any changes recommended by the dissertation committee must occur prior to the final submission. Early submissions are welcome as soon as students have finished proofreading and editing the dissertation.