Dissertation Deadlines

2016/2017 Deadlines

Please note: All deadlines are for 4:30 p.m. when the Dissertation Office closes.

Quarter First Week Ends* Draft Review Deadline** Final Submission*** Quarter Ends
Summer 2016 Wednesday, July 13 Friday, July 29 Saturday, August 27
Autumn 2016 Friday, September 30 Wednesday, October 26 Friday, November 11 Saturday, December 10
Winter 2017 Friday, January 6 Wednesday, February 1 Friday, February 17 Saturday, March 18
Spring 2017 Friday, March 31 Wednesday, April 26 Friday, May 12 Saturday, June 10

2017/2018 Deadlines

Please note: All deadlines are for 4:30 p.m. when the Dissertation Office closes.

Quarter Ends First Week Ends* Draft Review Deadline** Final Submission*** Quarter Ends
Summer 2017 Friday, June 23 Wednesday, July 12 Friday, July 28 Saturday, August 26
Autumn 2017 Friday, September 29 Wednesday, October 25 Friday, November 10 Saturday, December 9
Winter 2018 Friday, January 5 Wednesday, January 31 Friday, February 16 Saturday, March 17
Spring 2018 Friday, March 30 Wednesday, April 25 Friday, May 11 Saturday, June 9

*Doctoral candidates who submit their approved dissertation by Friday of the first week of a quarter and apply to graduate in that quarter will not be registered as students in that quarter.  They will not be required to pay tuition or fees associated with registration (and will therefore not have access to the privileges associated with student status).

**Draft reviews are optional.  The draft review service is available during the first few weeks of each quarter.

***Some departments have earlier deadlines.  Early submissions are welcome.